Pumpkin Bread Pudding

DSC_0042_01

I love pumpkin, I mean love pumpkin.  I always have to have a can of pumpkin puree in my pantry in case of emergencies, and there are pumpkin emergencies, believe me.  You pumpkin purists will scoff at me for my use of canned pumpkin, but you try having a 1am craving for some pumpkin cookies and then we’ll see.  I also love bread pudding, but you know what I don’t love?  1/2 stick of butter, 1/4 of cream, and 1 cup of sugar for breakfast!  I’m sorry, but I’m usually not in the mood to consume my recommended daily calories before I finish my morning cup of coffee.  And when I want to eat bread pudding I want to eat a lot of it.  So I compromised with the bread pudding and made a “lighter” version.

Recipe:

4-5 cups stale bread

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup skim milk

1/2 cup pumpkin

1/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp ginger

1/8 tsp allspice

1/8 tsp cloves

1 tsp cinnamon

Sauce:

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp heavy cream

1 tbsp brandy

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

Bake time: 30-45 minutes

Preheat oven 350°

Chop your bread into “cubes” or try at least.  Some people tear it, my bread is always way too stale to rip it.   You want about 4-5 cups worth.

DSC_0027_01

Whisk your eggs, sugar, and pumpkin until just blended.

Followed by your spices, buttermilk and milk.

DSC_0031_01

Mix in bread and let it soak.

DSC_0034_01

While your bread is soaking, make your sauce.  Heat it to just a simmer.

DSC_0033_01

Put 1/2 of bread mixture in an non greased bread dish (mine was 9x5x3) and top with 1/3 of sauce.

DSC_0035_01

Add remaining bread mixture and top with another 1/3 of sauce, put in oven uncovered.  Bake at 350° for 30-45 minutes.

Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes, top with remaining brandy sauce and serve!

DSC_0037_01

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread Pudding

  1. Pingback: Healthy Chunky Pumpkin Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

