Veggie Chili

DSC_0017_01

AKA “What do I need to get rid of in my fridge?” Chili

This chili was inspired by the fact I had 1/2 a green and red pepper, a random assortment of opened canned beans, and an open can of tomato paste.  If that’s not asking for chili, I don’t know what is.  After I realized this though, I kind of went a little nuts and thought “Well, what else can I throw in there?”  I can’t be held responsible for what happened next, I really just don’t like waste.

Recipe:

1 celery stalk (diced)

1 carrot (diced)

1 onion (diced)

1/2 green pepper (diced)

1/2 red pepper (diced)

1 cup corn

1/2 block tofu

5 mushrooms

4 garlic cloves (diced)

28 oz can whole tomatoes (diced), reserve liquid

1 tbsp tomato paste

~2 1/2 cups H20

2 1/2 cups beans (I used pinto, pink, black), (rinsed)

1 tbsp ancho chili powder (or any chili powder mix)

1/2 tsp cayenne powder

1 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp cumin (ground)

1/2 tsp paprika

salt, pepper to taste

Preheat oven 350°

Chop your celery, carrot, peppers, garlic, and mushroom.

DSC_0002_01

Lightly salt and sweat your onions.  I always get kind of offended at this point because Justin will pop his head in the kitchen and say, “Oh that smells amazing!” And I’m like, I haven’t done anything yet.

DSC_0007_01

When the onion starts becoming translucent add your carrot and celery, cook for a couple minutes.

DSC_0008_01

If you are organized you will have already cut your mushrooms and rinsed your tomatoes, but if you are like me you will have not so it’s time to do that.

DSC_0009_01

Throw in your peppers and mushrooms and cook just until they start to become soft, since you’re throwing it in the oven.

DSC_0011_01

Oh and hurry cut your tofu before everything gets mushy and you get sad because you ruined a whole dish and Justin winds up eating the whole thing because he still thinks it’s delicious.

DSC_0012_01

Now add your tofu (that you prepared way ahead of time of course), chopped tomatoes, tomato paste, beans, corn, spices, and 2 1/2 cups of water + tomato liquid to equal about 3 cups.  If you like a thicker chili don’t add as much liquid, I like mine a little on the soupy side.

DSC_0015_01

Put it in the oven at 350° for 30 minutes, an hour if you’re patient (I am not).  Since everything is already cooked this is just to get those flavors infused into everything and to make it taste more savory.

DSC_0023_01

And there you go!  A catch-all chili for your randomly stocked fridge.  You can serve it with rice or bread or what the hell, both!  I like to serve things with rice because it’s cheap and makes food last longer.

Leave a Reply

