Healthy Apple Blueberry Chunky Granola

DSC_0006_01

A few months ago I became fed up with eyeing the granola section of my grocery store.  Every single time I went to the store I found myself in that cruel section of the cereal aisle dreaming of the day I could buy an $8 bag of crunchy oats without batting an eye.  Well that day didn’t come while I was in the cereal aisle so I thought to hell with it, I’m making my own damn granola.  But then I discovered a crueler world.  While I was trying to find a recipe to use, I found the “healthy” snack I had been drooling over was laden with oil and sugar!  Heaven forbid.  So once again, I thought to hell with it, I’m making my own damn granola.   I have a lot of versions of this, this just happened to be the one I made today.

Recipe:

3 cups oats (old fashion)
2 tbsp whole wheat flour
2 tbsp flax seed
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup of no sugar added juice (apple for this recipe)
1 tbsp honey
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp apple pie spice
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup pepitas
1/2 cup dried apple (or 1 apple’s worth if you make it yourself)
1/2 cup dried blueberries

Bake time: ~1 1/2 hours

The recipe portion is my basic granola recipe, additions are for the Apple Blueberry Granola and can be changed any way you see fit.  Or change the whole recipe, I won’t know or care.  If I felt like spending more money I would have done 1/2 cup of pecans instead of the sunflower seeds and pepitas but frick, pecans are expensive.

Preheat oven 300°

Add oats to a large mixing bowl.  Dirty secret time: these are store brand oats that I keep in a Quaker Oat container to make me feel better about myself.  Silly, the things we do.

DSC_0052_01

Today is the day I realized how old my measuring spoons look.  Add 2 tbsp of whole wheat flour into bowl.

DSC_0053_01

Follow with 2 tbsp flax seed.

DSC_0056_01

1/4 cup of pepitas and sunflower seeds.

DSC_0057_01DSC_0058_01

Mix them all in your bowl with your salt.

DSC_0062_01

Heat honey, applesauce, juice, vanilla, and spices over stove, just until warm.

DSC_0066_01

Pour wet mixture onto dry mixture and stir with spoon or spatula or whatever.

Mixture should clump in your hand.

DSC_0068_01

Spread granola thinly on lightly greased baking sheet, if you need to use two use two.  Sprinkle with 1 tbsp of sugar.

DSC_0069_01

This is how thin it should be.  Bake in oven at 300° for 1 hour.  Pull out of oven, break apart and bake up to another 1/2 hour.

DSC_0071_01

While granola is cooling toss in your apples and blueberries (okay you caught me, they’re craisins but they’re blueberry juice infused and they’re a fraction of the price!)

DSC_0002_01

 

8 thoughts on “Healthy Apple Blueberry Chunky Granola

  1. The day that I discovered (store bought) granola was full of fat and sugar was a terrible day. But when I discovered how easy and delicious it was to make my own healthy version, I too rejoiced. This looks fabulous and I love the old honey jars for transportation. I also love telling anyone “bitch I made this” so I am totally on-board with this whole post!

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award « Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Healthy Orange Chocolate Chunky Granola « Our Studio Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Healthy Tropical Chunky Granola « Our Studio Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Healthy Peanut Butter and Jelly Chunky Granola « Our Studio Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Chunky Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Healthy Orange Chocolate Chunky Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

