Lemon Poppy Seed Banana Bread

DSC_0065

Banana bread is another one of those breakfast items that people like to turn into dessert.  I do not like my  dessert disguised as banana bread and I do not like dessert for breakfast, except for the times when I do and for those times I eat cake, because that is dessert.

I started baking in grade school and stopped when I was in college because I was in college and it was hard to make room and time for all that nonsense.  I jest, baking is never nonsense.  Banana bread however, was the one thing I continued to make because it’s pretty much fool proof.  This recipe isn’t fool tested, it’s just a saying.  Making this banana bread while studying for a degree I don’t use was also when I learned you don’t have to follow a recipe for your creations to work.

Side note: whenever Justin needs a pick me up I tell him to remember I paid $30,000 to be with him (we met in college if you didn’t get that).

There are other variations to this banana bread, I’ve posted some already.  Check them out in the BREAKFAST section.

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup no sugar added applesauce
1 egg
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 bananas (mashed)
1 lemon (zest, juice)
2 tbsp poppy seeds

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 350°

Sift your “dry” ingredients (flour, salt, baking powder/soda).  Wait, is that a Justin hand?  Is that a man helping me in the kitchen!?  I kid.

DSC_0046

Mix your “wet” ingredients (sugar, vanilla, and applesauce).  I bought this blue bowl in college specifically for making banana bread, it’s been with me ever since.  I realize it’s cheap plastic and is probably leaching dangerous, cancer causing chemicals into my banana bread, but at least they’re the nummy kind.

DSC_0037

Mash your bananas, I like them to be as soft as possible.  A whisk helps to turn those bananas into sludge quicker than a fork.  I tried using fresher bananas and kept them in bigger chunks once, things got weird.

DSC_0038

Zest your lemon.

DSC_0049

Juice your lemon.  Press and roll it first to make the juicing process easier.

DSC_0050DSC_0053

Whisk your egg in until just blended.

DSC_0054

Now add 1/2 of your flour mixture, followed by 1/2 of your lemon/banana mixture, followed by the rest of your flour…

DSC_0055

..and ending with your lemon/banana mixture.  Don’t worry about mixing completely between each addition.  I switch to a wooden spoon at this point so as not to over mix.

DSC_0056

Add your poppy seeds.

DSC_0058

This is the consistency I aim for with all my banana breads regardless of the additions and it never fails me.  Put it in the oven at 350° for 1 hour.  My pan is 8.5 x 4.5.  

DSC_0060

Use a knife or cake tester to check if the bread is done, it should come out clean.  I have been known to burn my fingers from pulling the bread out of the pan too early so I can eat it.   The time is usually midnight, that’s when my desire to make banana bread often strikes.

DSC_0062

5 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award « Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Tropical Mango Banana Bread « Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Orange Pomegranate Banana Bread « Our Studio Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Lemon Lavender Banana Bread | Our Studio Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Tropical Mango Banana Bread | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

