Kalamata Olive and Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

DSC_0050

I make a batch of hummus every week for my SO (significant other for those of you who aren’t abbreviation savvy) so he can eat it for lunch.  It’s cheap and it’s pretty hard to get sick of hummus, well for us it is.  I make a bunch of different variations of this hummus, but I’ve been going through a basil kick for the past couple weeks and I found some kalamata olives on sale (my favorite!).  My experience when starting out making hummus is similar to my granola adventure.  When looking up recipes I found people were putting 1/3 cup of tahini on top of 1/4 cup of oil, I was like “What?  That’s crazy.”  On a side note, I once forgot to put the tahini in a batch of hummus and it was delicious, further confirming my belief that you don’t need that much tahini.  As far as the oil goes, I don’t know, I find I don’t need that much.  I don’t really have an answer for you.  Oh and another note, forget what those people tell you on the internet, you don’t need a food processor to make hummus.  I use a blender and it works out just fine.

This recipe is like a tapenade and a hummus had a baby and then I ate it.  I recommend it.

Recipe:

2 cups of chick peas (I used dried) or 1 small can (rinse, the liquid in there weirds me out)

1 tbsp tahini

1 tsp oil

1 garlic clove

4 tbsp lemon juice (use 2 tbsp if you want less of a tangy flavor, I think the 4 brings out more of the olive flavor)

1/2 cup H20

1/4 cup kalamata olives

1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes

2 tsp fresh basil (chopped) or 1/2 tsp dried basil

salt, pepper to taste

Put everything in the blender except the water (start with a couple tbsp of water and work your way up to the 1/2 cup, I’ve found dried beans need more).

DSC_0045DSC_0046

Blend.  You can make it a little on the thinner side to make it easier on your blender since it gets thicker in the fridge.  Also it’s your hummus, make it whatever consistency you want.

DSC_0047

Make it pretty.  Garnishes make everyone happy except the inedible kind, those just piss people off.

DSC_0048

5 thoughts on “Kalamata Olive and Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

  1. Pingback: Spicy Spinach Artichoke Hummus « Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Roasted Veggie Hummus | Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Spicy Spinach Artichoke Hummus | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

