Peppermint Vanilla Latte

DSC_0095

It’s about this time of year that I get sad.  The holiday cheer is gone, the Rockefeller tree has been taken down (not that I’m particularly in love with that tourist trap but that’s another issue), and Justin is threatening to take down my Christmas tree.  I start bargaining with him, which then turns to guilt trips, “But I make you all these nummies!” And I get one more week.  This usually lasts until late January, but I get sad nonetheless.  Bear in mind I have had my tree up since the first week of September but it was a Halloween Tree, there’s a difference, and that difference makes me not crazy.

Now I want you to understand something, I am a coffee purist.  I like my coffee black, but when I decide to add something to it I’m going to frou frou that coffee up.

This post is a plug for the wonder that is powdered milk.  I love this stuff because I’m 92% sure I have IBS and milk and I can’t be friends because of it, but we can be distant non blood related cousins.  So most of the time when I need milk I buy soy, but every once in a while Justin wants cow milk or a recipe does better with it or you want to bathe in it like Cleopatra–I don’t know, I don’t know your bathing habits.

If you do decide to buy this, buy it on the internets.  It’s stupid expensive at the store.

DSC_0096

Recipe:

1 cup espresso or strong coffee (I use a Moka pot and I love it)

3/4 cup skim milk

1 tbsp white chocolate chips

2 tsp peppermint coffee syrup or a couple drops of peppermint extract (peppermint extract is preferred but the syrup was on sale)

Grind your beans or do whatever you Keurig people do.

DSC_0066

Make your coffee.  Can you tell my Moka pot gets a lot of use?

DSC_0068

While your coffee is brewing make your milk mixture.  Add 1 tbsp of vanilla chips to your milk.

DSC_0069

I think I would probably prefer peppermint extract but it’s always expensive.  This was $2 at the store one day, I couldn’t resist.  Add as much as you like, I like 2 tsp.

DSC_0070

Froth that business.  I use a bargain immersion blender.  For those of you with fancy schmancy frothers, I don’t really have anything smart to say other than…

DSC_0078

…enjoy your unitasker.  Look at my foamage!  I heat the milk mixture just enough to melt the chips (it shouldn’t get uncomfortably hot, something about over heating the milk inhibits it’s ability to create a silky foam–be able to touch your pot) then blend for 30 seconds on the highest setting.  I can feel you at home baristas cringing.  Cringe away.

DSC_0082

Pour your coffee in your desired receptacle, mine is a happy Santa man.  Then pour in your milk mixture, holding back the foam.  Convention states you should add your foam first and pour your milk on top when doing this spoon method, but I’ve been snubbing my nose at convention this entire recipe so I figure stopping now would just be kind of silly.

DSC_0085

Don’t forget to make it pretty.

DSC_0092

Leave a Reply

