Pumpkin Oatmeal Smoothie

DSC_0028

One day I was walking the streets of Manhattan, doing what I do when I suddenly I realized I had depleted my granola stash and I was starving.  I hate buying food while out and about because it’s so expensive but sometimes you’re hungrier than most days and you want a treat.  Usually I go for sushi or smoothies.  When you think of smoothies on the go you usually think of Jamba Juice.  I kind of have a love/hate relationship with Jamba Juice, I love the fact there is a place completely devoted to smoothies (and they don’t completely suck, granted I’ve only had 2 or 3 different kinds–I find what I like and stick to it) but I hate how stupid expensive they are.  Every time I go I think to myself, “These ingredients are so cheap and it takes no time for you to make them.”  “Oh, but you’re paying for the convenience, blah, blah, blah.”

Fine.  Where was I?  Oh, so on this particular day I go in and see they have ‘Pumpkin Smash Smoothie’ on the menu, I had never thought of such a thing!  I ordered the light version and even that was pretty sugary for my tastes, but I’m not much of a sugar person (freak, right?).  Like many things I order or buy I thought I could make this fit my taste indulgences better at home.  Skinny Kitchen makes a lighter version of this smoothie that I used as a jumping point.

Disclaimer: My version tastes healthy because it is, if you want pureed pumpkin pie go to Jamba Juice or make a pumpkin pie and stick it in the blender, I won’t judge you.  I lied, yes I will.  That’s a crazy thing to do to a whole pie, why would you go through the whole effort of making a pie just to stick it in the blender?  You kind of want to do it now, don’t you?  Stop it, there will be no blender pies today.

I think this smoothie is a wonderful way to start the morning and I can never get enough pumpkin.  And for those of you asking why I’m eating pumpkin in January and not November, because it’s frickin’ delicious that’s why…and I was eating it in November.

I decided to do the calorie comparison for this recipe.

Nutritional Info – Jamba Juice Pumpkin Smash Smoothie – 16 ounce
Calories – 390
Fat – 0g
Carbs – 83g
Protein – 10g

Nutritional Info – Jen’s Super Awesome Good For You Pumpkin Smoothie – about 16 ounce (While I was easily able to finish the Jamba Juice version, I couldn’t finish my version because it was so super awesomely filling–I say mine is two servings) 
Calories – 325
Fat – 4g
Carbs – 35g
Protein – 28

Now if you feel like making it lighter or if putting oats in a smoothie weirds you out (just try it, worst case scenario you hate it and you feed it to that one person in your household who will eat anything), take out the oats and you save 75 calories, 1.5g fat, and 13.5g carbs.  But you also lose 8.5g protein.  I love oats, they’re always in my pantry and that’s saying a lot because pantry space is something I do not have a lot of.

Recipe:

1/2 c pumpkin

1/2 c yogurt (I used 0% Greek)

1 tbsp honey

1 cup milk (I used vanilla soy)

1/4 cup oats (non instant)

1/4 cup carrot

At first I was annoyed at myself for buying this measuring tool, but it’s so convenient for things like shortening and peanut butter.  Justin always uses it for things that don’t require it, like water.  I think he likes to pretend he’s Alton Brown.  Add your pumpkin to the blender.

DSC_0001

Add your yogurt, I use 0% Greek yogurt.  You just can’t beat that protein content.

DSC_0002

Carrot, what?  It’s an easy way to add vitamins and it pairs well with the pumpkin.  You don’t have to grate it but it does make it easier on your blender.

DSC_0004

I love this milk for the sweet vanilla flavor it offers.  Buy your milk in cartons–vitamins are light sensitive.

DSC_0005

Honey is a magical thing.

DSC_0006

I realize I’m going to lose a lot of you with this oat thing, maybe start with 2 tbsp and work your way up to the 1/4 cup.  Whatever, I think it’s good.  Use non instant, instant turns into a goopey mess and really, if you’re honest with yourself you only save like 2 minutes.  Regular oats are pretty instant if you want them to be.

DSC_0010

Jeez, someone likes cinnamon.  It’s true I love it.  I buy mine here.

DSC_0011

Blend, then add your ice.  I find this makes things easier on your blender.  But if your lucky enough to have a Vitamix or something, do whatever it is you Vitamix owning people do.  Add as much ice as you like, I like my smoothies thick (it will already be decently thick because of the oats).  If you feel like planning ahead you can freeze your pumpkin, avoiding your need for ice.  I am not such a person.

DSC_0012

Top it with some whip cream if you’re feeling frisky or if you’re going to take a picture of it and you need it to look pretty.

DSC_0029

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oatmeal Smoothie

  1. You’ve sold me on this one. The only ingredient here I don’t know one thing about is the soy milk. I just use skim, the cow version, or goat if I’m lucky. And your photo with the three adorable little pumpkin seeds is lovely. So surprised by the high calorie count! Think I might make this into 2 servings… unless that’s lunch 🙂

    • Yes, to each their own on milk choice. I don’t always use soy, but there are times I prefer the flavor it brings.

      The high calorie count is from the oats and honey. You could save about 75 calories if you cut the oats out, but they’re so filling I think they’re worth the calorie amount. You can save about 20 calories or so if you use white sugar instead of honey, but I think honey gives you a richer flavor.

      Definitely to the 2 servings. I could easily finish the 16oz Jamba Juice version but could barely finish half of mine, so I had half for breakfast and the other half for second breakfast. 🙂

      Thank you for reading!

  2. Pingback: Healthy Orange Chocolate Chunky Granola « Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Healthy Chunky Pumpkin Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Healthy Pumpkin Chunky Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Healthy Orange Chocolate Chunky Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

