Savory Veggie Pancakes

DSC_0028

I made these pancakes one day because I had a random assortment of veggies and eggs in my fridge but my crazy self didn’t feel like making a quiche (I know, I couldn’t believe it either).  So instead, I decided to make a savory pancake.  However, when looking for ideas on the interent I couldn’t really find what I was thinking of so I decided to make my standard pancake recipe and just add veggies to it.  I figured what’s the worst that could happen, well it turns out it was frickin’ delicious.  The first time I made it I paired it with ricotta cheese, but I didn’t have that this time.  Justin said it tasted like a vegetable pot pie and I guess it kind of does, so this time around I made a mushroom “cream” (I use the term cream lightly because I could only get myself to use 1 tbsp of heavy cream, shut up it was still delicious) sauce to go with it.

Recipe: makes 8 pancakes

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 egg white
1 tbsp oil
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup water
1 cup carrot (grated)
1 cup broccoli (chopped)
pepper to taste

Mushroom Sauce:

4 ounces mushrooms
3/4 cup milk
2 tsp cornstarch
1 tbsp heavy cream
1/2 tsp tarragon
salt, pepper to taste

Sift your dry ingredients (flour salt, baking powder/soda) into a medium mixing bowl.

DSC_0001

Prepare your carrots, broccoli, and mushrooms.

DSC_0002

Heat your pan over medium heat and cook your veggies until slightly tender.  This should only take a couple minutes because they’re so small.  You can add a little bit of salt and pepper here if you’d like.  Remove from heat and put in a bowl to cool.  Yes I’m using a spatula, because I’m making pancakes and I don’t feel like dirtying another utensil.  Justin wants you to know about this spatula, he bought it on the internet and he’s proud.

DSC_0003

This was going to be the point where I tell you how whisking your egg white with your liquid and then adding it to your batter will create a fluffier pancake.  Unfortunately I gave this task to Justin and he wasn’t gifted with the ability to crack an egg properly, so we got a full egg in this batch.  I guess this has become the point where I tell you to be careful who you trust in the kitchen…

DSC_0005

Add your oil to your sifted dry ingredients, don’t mix.

DSC_0006

Immediately add your wet mixture followed by your cooled veggies (they can still be warm).  Don’t mix until everything is added.  Stir with a whisk for 10 seconds and, from the mouth of Mr. Alton Brown, “…just walk away.”

DSC_0007

This is how thick/think my batter is.  I really think it’s a personal preference, decide what you like and go with it.   I use this 1/4 cup measuring spoon to “ladle” the batter onto the pan, it’s a good amount for a pancakes.

DSC_0011

Turn your burner on and let it heat up.  I do this halfway through my pancake making, but I didn’t want to confuse the steps.  There’s a a huge difference in low, medium, and high settings on stoves, this is my flame and it serves me well.

DSC_0018

Butter (or whatever) your pan.  I use a 1/4 tbsp and any excess I push over to the edge to use for my next pancake.  1/4 tbsp gets me through 3-4 pancakes.

DSC_0013

Wait for bubbles and flip.  Woops somebody can’t flip to the middle, you try taking pictures when you’re cooking.  Cook for about 2 minutes per side.

DSC_0017

Put made pancakes on a plate or baking sheet in the oven on warm or lowest oven setting.  When pancakes are made get your mushrooms ready for your sauce.  If you want you can make this in a separate pan while you cook your pancakes, but I chose dirtying one less pan over saving time.

DSC_0022

Cook your mushrooms over med-low heat with residual butter until they have reduced in size (a few minutes).

DSC_0023

Mix your milk, cream, and cornstarch together then add to pan.  Stir continuously and cook for a few more minutes until it has reached your desired thickness.  Finish with 1/2 tsp tarragon and salt and pepper to taste.

DSC_0025

The pancakes taste delicious on their own (I like toasting mine and spreading butter on them) but the sauce is good if you just have to have a “syrup” with your pancakes.

DSC_0027

One thought on “Savory Veggie Pancakes

Leave a Reply

