Tropical Mango Banana Bread

DSC_0061

I always like making variations of my banana bread–this one was inspired by the fact I didn’t feel like making a peanut butter one and I ran out of lavender.  I used this recipe as inspiration , like most recipes I wind up getting inspiration from, my recipe is nothing like it but I figured I would share because it’s what got my tropical gears going.  I originally planned on using pineapple in the recipe but when I got to the store I asked Justin what he wanted, he said mango and he normally hates mangoes.  I guess he felt like being fancy.  While I do prefer my Lemon Poppy Seed Banana Bread to this one, it’s good to change things up every once in a while especially when you get your hands on some good, cheap mangoes.  Do those two concepts even go together?

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp honey
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
2 bananas (medium)
1 mango
1/4 cup coconut (unsweetened)
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp allspice (about 4-5 berries)
2 tbsp coconut milk (or regular milk)

Bake time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 350°

While your oven is preheating cut your mango and mash your bananas.  There’s all sorts of fancy ways to cut a mango, including buying some ridiculous device from Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  Cut the skin off, avoid the thing in the middle, and chop.  I cut mine into small chunks, I’ve tried using large chunks of fruit before and the after effect isn’t the most pleasant.  I treated the mango as if it were chocolate chips.

DSC_0043

I use my whisk to mash my bananas, it’s faster than a fork.

DSC_0036

Add your ginger and allspice to your banana/mango mixture.  You can really add your spices whenever/wherever you want, I like to add it here because it gives the spices time to mingle.  And you know spices, they like to mingle.  I use allspice berries, I buy them here.  Once you try whole allspice you’ll wonder what the hell that dusty powder stuff that you’ve been putting in your pumpkin pie all these years is.  And no, you don’t need a fancy spice grinder.  I break the berries apart in my mortar and pestle (you don’t need that either, pretty much any heavy-ish object will do) and then grind them in a salt grinder (or pepper) I never use (except for when I’m grinding allspice berries, which is actually kind of regularly).

DSC_0052

When your oven is ready put in your coconut on a non-greased sheet, tossing a couple times until finished (should take 5-7 minutes in a 350° oven).

DSC_0044

Side note: Justin and I always thought we hated coconut until we bought the unsweetened kind.  Take it out and let it cool, I break it up into smaller chunks with my hands before adding it later.

DSC_0048

Sift your dry ingredients together (salt, baking soda/powder, flour).

DSC_0046

Add your sugars to your applesauce in a large mixing bowl.  I decided to cut my usual sugar amount down for this recipe because of the addition of coconut and mango.  Why do I add three types of sugar?  Because I’m weird, no…yes.  Brown sugar is moister than white, thus making a moister bread (and I prefer the flavor).  Honey is sweeter than sugar so you can get away with using less of it and the whole moist thing.  And finally white sugar because it helps give you that harder crust on top that you eat all of before Justin can even have a slice.

DSC_0031

DSC_0030

Mix until blended.

DSC_0034

Add your egg and whisk until just blended.  You can definitely use egg whites instead.  I used to use 2 egg whites but then decided since Justin eats this for breakfast most mornings a whole egg made more sense.

DSC_0049

Add half of your dry mixture followed by half of your wet mixture.

DSC_0053DSC_0054

Followed by the other halves ending with the wet.

DSC_0055

This is where I end up adding my liquid because I would rather have to add liquid at the end than flour.  I added 2 tbsp of coconut milk, pineapple/orange juice or regular regular would also be worth additions.  I lean towards the milk though because I thought adding another flavor would muddy the rest.

DSC_0056

Add your coconut saving 1 tbsp for the top.

DSC_0057

Add your batter to a greased pan (mine is 8.5 X 4.5) and bake at 350° for 1 hour.

DSC_0058

Use a tester to check for doneness (should come out clean) and let rest for about 20 minutes.  Especially if there’s fruit involved in your bread, trust me on this.  I have made that mistake one too many times because I am impatient.

DSC_0068

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tropical Mango Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Orange Pomegranate Banana Bread « Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Lemon Lavender Banana Bread | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

