Spicy Spinach Artichoke Hummus

DSC_0020

You can check out my first hummus recipe here–Kalamata Olive and Sun Dried Tomato Hummus.  Like I said in the previous post, I make a batch of hummus every week for Justin as a school snack.  Reading that last sentence made it seem like Justin is my son, I’d like to clarify he is my partner and he is in grad school, hence the school hummus.  I’m working on making the pitas myself so we can stop buying those from the stores as well–baby steps, you know.  This hummus is a little more expensive than your more basic hummus recipes, which is why I only use half a can of artichokes.  You can use the whole can in this recipe, I just like to save half the can for either another batch of hummus or pasta or something.  To get my ideas for hummus I just steal them from whatever the creative minds at Sabra come up with and put my own little twist on them.

Currently Sabra makes:

  • Basil Pesto Hummus
  • Tuscan Garden Hummus
  • Southwest Garden Hummus
  • Asian Fusion Garden Hummus
  • Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
  • Classic Hummus
  • Greek Olive Hummus
  • Roasted Pine Nut Hummus
  • Chipotle Hummus
  • Spinach and Artichoke Hummus
  • Sun Dried Tomato Hummus
  • Tahini Hummus
  • Jalapeño Hummus
  • Luscious Lemon Hummus
  • Roasted Garlic Hummus
  • Supremely Spicy Hummus

That’s 16 different kinds of hummus and with variations on those your possibilities are practically endless.  Except, seriously Sabra you got pretty lazy with a few of these–Tahini Hummus, Luscious Lemon Hummus, and Roasted Garlic Hummus?  Pretty sure those are already staple ingredients in hummus.  I imagine them sitting in their offices at the the end of the month scrambling to meet their new recipe quota…Sabra Boss played by J.K. Simmons.

Sabra Lemming 1:  “Boss, I’m sorry we’re in way over our heads, we just can’t come up with a new recipe.”
Sabra Boss:              “Fine.  What’s in hummus anyway?”
Sabra Lemming 1:  “Ugh, chick peas…tahini…”
Sabra Boss:               “Tahini, that’s it.  We’ll just add more tahini.”
Sabra Lemming 2:  “But sir, what will we call it?”
Sabra Boss:               “…Tahini Hummus.”
Sabra Lemming 2:  “Brilliant sir…but won’t our customers catch on that it’s essentially our Classis Hummus?”
Sabra Boss                “You’re starting to piss me off Number 2.”
Sabra Lemming 2:  “Right sir.”

Recipe:

2 cups chick peas (you can use 1 small can–I think it gives you about 1.5 cups after you drain it)
1/2 can artichoke hearts (4-5 hearts)
1 cup spinach (frozen or fresh)
2 cloves garlic
2 tbsp tahini
1/2 cup H20
1 tsp oil
1/2 tsp cayenne
1 tsp paprika
salt, pepper to taste

Drain and rinse your artichokes and spinach.  Dice your garlic.  It’s about 1 cup of packed spinach, but that didn’t look pretty for a picture.  I promise, I will get a scale…eventually.

DSC_0005

Now cooking your garlic, spinach, and artichoke is totally optional.  It will taste fine throwing them all in the blender with the rest of your ingredients, but if you have the time why not?  Cook your garlic with your oil over med-low heat until fragrant, don’t burn it.

DSC_0008

Add your spinach (with a tiny bit of salt if you desire) and cook until wilty.

DSC_0009

Wilty.

DSC_0010

Remove the spinach and garlic (putting in your processor/blender) and turn your pan up to med, med-high.   Add your artichokes.  Cook until they develop a little color, if you want to deglaze your pan, do it (I just can’t help myself).  I used a bit of water, yes  I know you have the opportunity to add flavor here but it’s frickin hummus and these artichoke hearts have been living in citric acid for who knows how long.

DSC_0013

Add your artichokes to your processor, or your blender, if you’re not lucky enough to have a food processor, along with your chick peas.

DSC_0016

Add your tahini, spices, and water.  I start with a 1/4 cup of water and work my way up until I reach the consistency I desire.  I usually end up using anywhere from 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup, but that’s because I use dried beans.

DSC_0019

Finish with salt and pepper to taste and add a garnish if your’re feeling so inclined.  I did tomato, basil, and parmesan cheese.  Does someone still have Christmas decorations up?  Shut up.

DSC_0023

5 thoughts on “Spicy Spinach Artichoke Hummus

  1. Pingback: Roasted Red Pepper and Spinach Hummus | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Roasted Veggie Hummus | Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Roasted Red Pepper and Spinach Hummus | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

