Healthy Peanut Butter and Jelly Chunky Granola

DSC_0112

I have a vagina so I, of course, love peanut butter.  That’s the way it works right?  I’m pretty sure that’s what every Rom Com and sitcom has taught me.  I don’t really have much more to say about that. This is my favorite out of all the other granolas I make.  So far I’ve posted Tropical, Apple Blueberry, and Orange Chocolate, with others to come.

Recipe:

3 cups old fashion oats
2 tbsp whole wheat flour
2 tbsp flax seed
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (raw)
1/2 cup peanuts (raw, chopped)
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
1/2 cup cranberry juice (light)
1 tbsp white sugar
1 tbsp jelly (optional, no sugar added)
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup raisins

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 300°

Add oats to a large mixing bowl.

DSC_0070

Followed by your flour.

DSC_0071

Flax seed.

DSC_0074

Salt.

DSC_0076

Nuts.

DSC_0072 DSC_0078

Now add your liquid ingredients to a pan over low heat.  In other granola recipes I say this part is “kind of” optional (just to get all the flavors melded), this time you actually need to to melt the peanut butter.

DSC_0080

Use any kind of berry juice you feel like.

DSC_0082

While I prefer all natural peanut butter in my everyday life I use this Jif Natural Peanut Butter for my granola.  It’s got a little sugar in it, which allows me to not add as much myself, but the choice is yours.

DSC_0081

Mix all your ingredients over low heat until the peanut melts, remove from heat and add your vanilla.  If you want it a little more sugary add the tbsp of jelly.  I wasn’t really feeling it this time.

DSC_0084

Mix your dry ingredients in your mixing bowl.

DSC_0093

And add your wet mixture.

DSC_0094

Mix until no dry oats can be seen.  Mixture should clump in your hand.

DSC_0097

Flatten evenly to about a 1/4 inch thick on a lightly oiled baking sheet and sprinkle with the 1 tbsp of white sugar.  If you need to use two sheets, use two.  Bake for 1 hour.  I check on it at about 40 minutes, if the edges are starting to brown faster I break the sheet apart in large chunks and redisperse over the sheet.

DSC_0108

Granola is done when it is almost completely hard.  Pull granola out and let it cool slightly, break apart and add raisins.  Once it’s completely cool add to air tight container.

DSC_0111

One thought on “Healthy Peanut Butter and Jelly Chunky Granola

Leave a Reply

