Orange Pomegranate Banana Bread

DSC_0038

Like I’ve said before, I make a loaf of banana bread every week for Justin to eat for breakfast (Tropical Mango Banana Bread, Lemon Poppy Seed Banana Bread) .  So he’s well studied on banana bread consumption.  This is his favorite banana bread recipe.

Edit: As he’s reading this he says, “This isn’t my favorite,” and I reply, “Oh so you lied?”  “No, this was my favorite and then you made the lemon poppy seed one, so that became my new favorite.”  So I will correct myself, this is Justin’s old favorite banana bread recipe.

Unlike my other banana bread recipes, I added yogurt to this because yogurt and pomegranate go well together.  If you don’t have yogurt or have an aversion to it or something (freak) just omit it and cut the baking soda by 1/4 tsp and the all purpose flour by 1/4 cup.

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
1 orange (medium, zest and juice)
2 bananas (medium, mashed)
1 egg
1/4 greek yogurt (0%)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup pomegranate arils

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 350°

Cut your pomegranate (try and buy a nicer one than Justin and I managed to).

DSC_0003

There’s a lot of nonsense on the internet about how to cut a pomegranate and what a messy endeavor it is.  I have never stained an article of clothing or broken any of the arils opening a pomegranate this way so I recommend it.   Cut the tip of your pomegranate off, kind of like you would a pumpkin except you barely need to push your knife through.  I’m sure you’ll do a nicer job than I did.

DSC_0004

Score the pomegranate  just going through the red part of the skin.

DSC_0005

Holding the pomegranate in both hands and with your thumps on the top part start to pull the pomegranate apart gently–it should come apart pretty easily.

DSC_0006

Break the sections off completely and gently remove the arils as you remove more sections of the outer skin.

DSC_0007

This whole process took less than 5 minutes with all the picture taking and I only dropped like 2 arils, so that seems a lot less messy than those whacking methods.  But that’s just me.

DSC_0009

Sift your flour, baking powder/soda, and salt together.

DSC_0010

Whisk your sugars and applesauce together.  Yes, I add applesauce to everything, get past it.

DSC_0013

Followed by your egg.

DSC_0022

Mash your bananas and zest/juice your orange.  I like to mash by bananas with my whisk because it gets rid of the large chunks better than a fork.

DSC_0016

Add your orange zest/juice along with the yogurt and cinnamon to your bananas.

DSC_0021

Add half of your flour to your sugar/applesauce mixture.  Don’t mix completely until the last addition to prevent over mixing.

DSC_0024

Followed by half of your banana mixture.

DSC_0026

Followed by the other halves.

DSC_0027

Now you can mix all the way.

DSC_0028

Add your 1/2 cup pomegranate arils saving a couple tbsp worth.

DSC_0029

Add your batter to a lightly greased pan, sprinkle your remaining arils on top.  If you felt so inclined you could turn some of your pomegranate arils into a syrup and swirl it on top before baking, but even typing that sentence out was more effort than I wanted to put into this banana bread.  The choice is yours, I went the lazier and less sugary route.

DSC_0030

Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until tester comes out clean.

DSC_0032

One thought on “Orange Pomegranate Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Lemon Lavender Banana Bread | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

