Healthy Coconut Curry Savory Granola

DSC_0063e

Sometimes you look at your sad granola and you can’t even think of eating another bite.  You’re tired of eating beautifully toasted morsels of sweet oaty goodness.  I know, me neither.  I’m just talking craziness.  But sometimes you want a change.  Once again, I know, me neither.  Who can get sick of homemade sweet granola?  The answer is no one.  And if the answer is you, then check yourself because you don’t exist, because I just said no one can get sick of homemade granola.

So if you aren’t a figment of somebody’s imagination then take a gander at this savory granola recipe.  When Justin came in the kitchen he was like, “I smell curry!”  Then seeing the oats, “You’re making curry granola, that’s weird!”  He’s right, it is weird.  But it’s also frickin’ delicious.  So delicious that it is now my third favorite granola.  That might not sound that impressive, but it is because I make fucking awesome granola.   And I swore right there because my granola is in fact that amazing.

If the idea of a savory granola as a snack is still not appealing to you (jeez, just give it a chance) then think about using it in place of croutons on a salad or cream soups.  Creamy Tomato Curry Soup topped with Coconut Curry Granola?  Um…yum.

Recipe:

3 cups old fashion oats
1/4 cup almonds (raw, chopped)
1/2 cup pepitas
1/2 cup coconut (raw, unsweetened)
1/2 cup coconut milk (light or regular)
1 tbsp whole wheat flour
1 egg white
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp curry powder
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cayenne
1-2 tsp olive oil

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 300°

Add your oats, flour, pepitas, almonds, and coconut in a large mixing bowl.  If you have it in your budget this would taste great with other nuts traditionally used in Indian cooking such as pistachios or cashews.

DSC_0042

Add your milk to a bowl.  Normally I heat my liquid granola mixture, but since we’re adding egg to this I’m skipping it.

DSC_0046

Add your salt, 1 tsp.

DSC_0047

Add your curry powder, 1 tbsp.

DSC_0049

Cayenne, 1/4 tsp.

DSC_0050

Paprika, 1/4 tsp.

DSC_0053

Ginger, 1/4 tsp.

DSC_0052

1 egg white, I use my hand–you get an easier separation that way.  Whisk until the egg is well integrated.

DSC_0055

Mix your dry ingredients together.

DSC_0056

Add your wet mixture and mix until there are no dry oats, mixture should clump in your hand.

DSC_0059

Spread granola on a lightly oiled baking sheet and flatten.  Because I had less wet mixture to work with than my other granola recipes I took 1-2 tsp of oil in my hands and patted the top of the granola.

DSC_0060

Bake in a 300° oven for 1 hour.  I usually break it apart at 40 minutes to encourage even baking.

DSC_0062

6 thoughts on “Healthy Coconut Curry Savory Granola

    • I don’t eat my granola as a cereal, I mostly eat it as a snack on its own. I ate this as just a snack but it was a little too much for Justin to eat like he does the other granolas I make so he put it over salads and a tomato coconut curry soup.

      edit: I told Justin about your comment and now he’s really wanting to try out our remaining curry granola with some coconut milk. So whenever he gets around to doing it I will let you know the results.

      2nd edit: We tried it for breakfast this morning and both enjoyed it; would most likely go for it more as a lunch item though due to the savoriness.

  1. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Chunky Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Healthy Wasabi Savory Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Healthy Wasabi Savory Granola | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

