Sweet Potato “Macaroni” and Cheese

DSC_0047e

So if you read my Adventures in Bread Making: Whole Wheat Oatmeal Sandwich Bread  you read my sad little story about how Justin and I only ate Pb+Js and cereal because we had no money.  Well cut to a year after that sad venture; we had a little bit more money and we upgraded to pasta.  Easy there big spenders.  I still hadn’t discovered the wonders of cooking most of your food from scratch so we were living off of Ragu (or when we wanted to spoil ourselves, Prego) and Kraft Dinner.  No, I’m not Canadian, I just like calling it Kraft Dinner.

When I would make the mac and cheese I wound up putting in so many veggies and other things that it finally dawned on me, why not just make it from scratch?  So, I did.  And as usual, it’s frickin’ delicious.  I like adding sweet potato to my mac and cheese because it gives it a creaminess allowing you to use less cheese and dairy (if you so desire, which I usually do).  Plus, sweet potatoes are packed with Vitamin A and have a decent amount of fiber.  Yeah, they’re carb heavy but I love carbs.  They’ve never done me wrong.  And last time I checked mac and cheese is pretty much all carbs, so if you’re reading this you should be okay with them too.

Recipe:

1 sweet potato (medium, chopped)
16 oz pasta (I like experimenting with all types of noodles, today is Brad’s Organic Medium Whole Wheat Shells)
8 oz cheddar cheese
2 cups milk
1/2 cup onion (chopped)
1/2 cup carrot (grated)
1/2 cup brocolli
4 bacon strips (I use turkey)
4 cloves garlic
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp paprika
2 tsp mustard powder
salt, pepper to taste

Baking time: 35 minutes

Preheat oven to 375°

Peel and cube your sweet potato and add it to a pot of boiling water.  You could also bake or steam your potato, this just seemed easier to me.  About 10 minutes for this way.  They’re done when they smoosh in between a pair of tongs or are fork tender.

DSC_0001

Strain your potatoes and add it to your food processor or blender with 1 cup of your milk.  You can get away with skim here, I did.  Blend until smooth, leave lid on and set aside until you’re ready for it.

DSC_0015

Bring a pot of water to boil for your noodles, cook them al dente.  Cook your bacon–pig, beef, chicken, turkey, veggie–whatever floats your bacon boat.  Set it aside on some paper towel when it’s done.

DSC_0005

While your bacon is cooking you can prepare your onion, broccoli,  carrot, and garlic and grate your cheese.  If you’re one of those organized home chefs you will have done this already.  Obviously, I am not.

DSC_0009

Soften your onions over medium low heat, about 10 minutes.  You can go all the way and caramelize them if you feel like devoting the time, I rarely do.  The sweetness of the onion pairs nicely with the sweetness of the carrots.

DSC_0011

Over low heat, melt your butter in your pan.  I use half real butter and half fake.  I know,  I have an aversion to fat or something.  I’m working on it.  Add your garlic too.

DSC_0016

Add the equal amount of flour.  This isn’t the greatest picture of the process, it’s a little pastier looking than this before you add the milk.  You try taking a picture and properly whisking something.  Cook for about 2 minutes over low heat.  We’re making a sort of blond roux here or at least attempting at one.

DSC_0020

Add your remaining cup of milk and mix together.

DSC_0022

Add your chopped broccoli and grated carrots, along with all your spices.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Cook over medium low heat until your veggies have softened and your roux has thickened.

DSC_0024

About 5 minutes.

DSC_0025

Your pasta is probably done now.  Drain and set aside.  In the same pot you made your noodles add your sweet potato puree mixture and grated cheese, reserve a couple ounces of cheese.

DSC_0026

Followed by your broccoli, carrot roux business.  Add more salt here if you need to.  The roux should be hot enough to melt your cheese, if it’s not put it back on the stove and heat until melted.

DSC_0027

Mix and add your noodles.  Now you can stop here.  It’s delicious.  But if you have time why not bake it?  The baking helps infuse some of the flavor into the noodles and also causes the sweet potato to get a light mashed potato consistency.  If neither of those things sound good to you then obviously, don’t bake it.

DSC_0028

Now add it to any lightly oiled oven safe dish you have on hand.  Top with remaining cheese and chopped bacon.  Don’t want bacon?  Don’t add it.  I find turkey bacon is a cheap, easy way to add protein to a meal.  To each their own though.

DSC_0029

Bake in a 375° oven for 35-45 minutes, until the cheese melts and browns slightly.

DSC_0031

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato “Macaroni” and Cheese

  1. Looks fabulous! I’ve actually done a carrot mac and cheese that sounds similar. Even though I love eating veggies and don’t need to sneak them by into meals, I still love recipes like this that make them more than a side dish. Leaving out fat and adding veg is always a good plan!

    • Thanks for reading! Yeah I love veggies but I kind of prefer adding everything together into one meal as opposed to eating them as sides just because it makes meal preparation easier for me. Also, it makes it easier to store leftovers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

