Bacon Cheddar Turkey Burger on a Pretzel Roll

DSC_0091

Sick of hamburger buns?  Chances are you’re not, but if you’re looking for a change why not try a pretzel roll bun?  Check out my Pretzel Rolls post for the recipe.  It’s Alton Brown’s Soft Pretzel recipe, but there’s step by step instructions and I turned it into rolls.  We decided to use this as a Superbowl treat, granted I don’t give a crap about the Superbowl and have no idea who’s playing.  But any excuse to make nummies is good in my book.

Recipe:

16 oz ground turkey (makes 4, 4 oz patties)
lettuce
4 pretzel buns
4-8 strips turkey bacon (depending if you want 1 or 2 strips)
4 slices cheddar cheese
1 tbsp jalapenos (diced, I use pickled for this) (omit if you don’t like spicy food, obviously)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tbsp fish sauce
2 cloves garlic (crushed)

Make your bacon and set aside.

DSC_0009

Prepare your cheese and lettuce.  I like to cut it by hand and do a really crappy job, I enjoy the inconsistency in the slice.  I don’t know, it makes it feel more rustic or some such nonsense.

DSC_0004

As someone who doesn’t eat meat very often, this picture is kind of unsettling.  Break apart your meat into small chunks and add it to a mixing bowl with your crushed garlic, salt, jalapenos, pepper, and fish sauce.  Fish sauce you say?  Yes, shut up and do it.  Relax, I’ll justify myself.  I came to a realization last week.  My realization was that I was putting soy sauce on practically everything.  Not for the saltiness but for something else.  What was that something else?  Umami, and it’s magical.  Umami is that unmistakable savory taste we experience with some foods.    Mushrooms, meat, soy sauce, and you guessed it, fish sauce are all rich with umami.  So my thinking is why not make a savory burger even more savory?  No, your burger will not taste like fish I promise you.  Just try it.

DSC_0087

Mix all your ingredients together being careful to not overwork your meat.  Ha.

Form into patties that are a little wider than your buns and thinner in the middle.  If you wet your hands before hand the meat doesn’t stick as much.  Add to your lightly oiled or bacon fatted pan over medium heat.  Cook for 4-5 minutes on the first side, do not press the patty down with your spatula!

Originally there was just this picture of the cooking process as I get a little frantic in the kitchen when cooking meat.  But we had left over patties so I had a full day to calm myself and try again with the picture taking.

DSC_0088

Flip.

DSC_0012

 Then add your bacon topped with your cheese.  You don’t have to put your bacon under your cheese, I just do this so it doesn’t fall off while you’re trying to eat it.

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

When you’ve got about 2 minutes left in the cooking time, (remember you’re cooking them 4-5 minutes per side) top it with a lid to melt the cheese.  Are those Christmas lights?  Yeah, we go ahead and keep them up all year and I find nothing white trash about that.

DSC_0019

Bueno.

DSC_0021

Serve with, I don’t know some homemade Jalapeno Poppers.

DSC_0105

7 thoughts on “Bacon Cheddar Turkey Burger on a Pretzel Roll

  1. Pingback: Pretzel Rolls | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Baked Jalapeno Poppers | Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Adventures in Bread Making: Pretzel Rolls | Our Studio Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Baked Jalapeno Poppers | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

