Vanilla Green Tea Chai Soy Latte

DSC_0030e

This is my go-to drink when I’m stressed out and need a reminder to chill out.  Being the Type-A individual that I am, I drink this beverage a lot.  Like two-three times a day a lot, on top of my several cups of coffee.  Reason would dictate I not have that third cup of coffee but it also calms me, it calms me I say!

Have you tried the Starbucks Tazo Chai Latte?  It’s gross in my opinion and you’re paying $4.00 for concentrate liquid, screw you Starbucks.  You can buy the Tazo Chai Concentrate at the store, but guess what, the first ingredient is water.

Starbucks Tazo Chai Tea Latte w/ Soy (16oz)

Calories: 240
Fat: 3.5 g
Carbohydrates: 47 g
Protein: 6 g

My Awesomer Vanilla Green Tea Chai Soy Latte (16oz)

Calories: 150
Fat: 6.5 g
Carbohydrates: 17 g
Protein: 6 g

I use vanilla chips in mine when I want to feel fancy but it tastes very good with just artificial sweetener which cuts the calories down to 80, sugar down to 2.5 g, and carbs down to 8 g.

Recipe:

2 bags green chai tea (or your choice, obviously)
8 oz boiling water
8 oz vanilla soy milk (or whatever)
1 tbsp vanilla chips (or 1-2 packets of artificial sweetener)

Bring 8 oz water to a boil.

DSC_0079

Steep your tea.  For green, 3-4 minutes.  Since we’re adding more liquid to it later we’re making it double strength.  Eventually I’ll make my way to the tea house and get myself some loose leaf, but every time I’ve gone they never have green chai.  And I love me some green chai.  And no it’s 7:00 am, I don’t feel like making my chai tea from scratch.

DSC_0071

While your tea is doing its thing, melt your vanilla chips with your milk over low heat on the stove.  Like I said earlier, this also tastes very good using artificial sweetener or half sugar/half spenda, whatever you feel like doing.

DSC_0083

Once your chips have melted pull off the heat.  Add a little vanilla extract and some cinnamon if you’re feeling frisky.  I’m of the mind there’s no such thing as too much cinnamon.  This coming from the girl who used to lick Big Red wrappers and stick them to her forehead just to feel the burn.  Does that make me weird?  Yes, it absolutely does.

DSC_0084

Now whip, shake, froth your mixture.  Whatever way is available to you.  I use an immersion blender for 30 seconds.

DSC_0085

Pour your milk in.  I hold back the foam with a spoon until near the end of my pouring since it’s not a traditional foam and won’t fill the cup like a real latte foam.

DSC_0086

Enjoy with some sweet biscuits if you would like to feel a little British, although I’m sure a Brit would scoff at you for putting so much milk and sugar in your tea.  I prefer Quadratinis with my tea, but that’s just me…and I’m not British.

DSC_0019e

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Green Tea Chai Soy Latte

Leave a Reply

