Crustless/Cheeseless Veggie Quiche

DSC_0140

That title makes this dish seem sad.  I assure you it’s not.  It’s a very happy dish.  It’s also deceptive because it has flour in it that forms on the bottom of the quiche helping to stabilize it.  Is it a crust?  No. Is it kind of a crust?  Kind of.

I usually don’t put cheese in my quiches because my quiche making is usually reserved for getting rid of any excess vegetables I happen to have in my fridge.  And when I make a dish with primarily vegetables, I primarily want to taste vegetables.  I don’t know, call me crazy.

But if you’re a cheese fiend go right ahead and throw some cheese into this quiche, the quiche will allow it.

Recipe:

5 eggs
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup milk (I use buttermilk, but whatever you feel like)
1/4 cup broccoli (diced)
1/4 cup mushrooms (diced)
1/4 cup carrots (diced)
1/4 cup corn
1/2 tsp tarragon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp pepper

Bake time: 25-30 minutes

Preheat oven 350°

Prepare your vegetables.  Use whatever ones you have available to you, these just happened to be in my fridge this morning.  I usually go for about 1 cup of ingredients in the quiche + any dairy/cheese.

DSC_0055

Cook your vegetables in your pan until just soft, or mush, however you prefer your vegetables.  Everything should cook quickly because of it’s size.  You can lightly salt and pepper here.  When done, remove from heat and put in a bowl or plate or something to cool.  Turn the pan off.  I cook in groups as to not over crowd the pan.

DSC_0058DSC_0059DSC_0060DSC_0061DSC_0062

I add flour/baking powder to my milk, it’s totally optional.  The flour settles on the bottom of the pan and makes a soft crust and adds stability to the quiche.  You can add breadcrumbs to the bottom of your pan before filling instead if the flour thing weirds you out.  Or, just not do either of those things.

I shake the mixture up in an old jar to create a slurry.  I have this weird thing where I have a hard time throwing away glass jars.   It just seems so wasteful to throw away something so useful.  It must be my inner hippie.

DSC_0070

Add your eggs to a medium mixing bow and separate the yolk from the white.  Hey, Justin hands!  I told him he had 5 chances to get this shot and he got it on his first try.  This boy, he’s good under pressure.

DSC_0007

I separate yolks with my hands.  It’s faster and you’re less likely to break them that way.

DSC_0063

Now whisk your whites.  Yes I whisk my egg whites by hand.  On one hand I kind of like to, on the other I don’t have have a hand blender so I’m sort of forced to.  Hand whisking does have it’s perks though: 1) t’s a lot harder to over beat your whites 2) it’s not as hard as it seems, and 3) you get a much stronger sense of accomplishment when you don’t screw it up.  If you have a copper bowl or some cream of tartar this process can go even easier for you. I had neither and it still went fine.

The thing to remember is your goal is to incorporate air into your whites.  What is the best way to not do that?  By banging them with your whisk against the side of the bowl, which is what most people do when they whisk something.  It’s not their fault though, whisking is depicted like this on television and in movies all the time.  Where else were they supposed to learn it?  Their parents?  That seems like an awfully big burden to put on the parents.  Better leave it up to the schools.  Or better yet, let’s just let them find out about it on their own.  In fact, let’s just never talk about it at all, again, ever.  And then when we come home one day only to find them improperly beating their egg whites, we’ll wonder why and punish them anyway.

Okay so whisk your whites properly by essentially sloshing the whites on top of each other.  Turn the bowl on an angle and do the whisking motion, but this time don’t let the whisk bang against the bowl.  You should now hear the sound of the whites sloshing on top of themselves.  This should be the only sound you hear.  Well that and the sound of heavy breathing if you’re crazy out of shape.  Get your mind out of the gutter, we already passed that segment.

DSC_0077DSC_0080DSC_0081DSC_0082DSC_0087

We’re going for soft peaks.  This whole process takes about 30 minutes…I’m screwing with you.  It takes a few minutes, faster as you get better.

DSC_0089

Make sure your flour/baking powder is well integrated with your milk and add it to your eggs yolks.

DSC_0073

Add your veggies, salt, and spices.  Your veggies should be sufficiently cooled.  If they’re sitting in a huge pool of juices you cooked them wrong.  Just don’t put that liquid in.

DSC_0092

Now add 1/3 of whipped egg whites into your base and mix.  This is to lighten up your base.

DSC_0094

Then add the rest of your egg whites and mix as you would a souffle, think folding the mixtures together not stirring.

DSC_0095

Don’t worry about getting them perfectly integrated.

DSC_0096

Butter your pan, 1/4 tbsp is sufficient.  Or Pam it, whatever.  But are you really thinking of Pamming your cast iron?  Shame on you.  If you’re not using a cast iron then Pam on, but quiches look pretty in cast iron.

DSC_0098

Bake 350° for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown and a knife comes out clean in the center.

DSC_0103

Serve immediately.  Since this is a souffle type dish it will fall after 5-10 minutes.

DSC_0131

4 thoughts on “Crustless/Cheeseless Veggie Quiche

Leave a Reply

