Raspberry Jam Heartbreakers

DSC_0021

Justin named these.  He was really proud of it and didn’t want me to call them anything else.  So that’s where the name came from.

But where did the recipe come from?  Well, like every Valentine’s Day I get the idea in my brain that I like Conversation Hearts.  I start to crave them.  Every time I look at those festive boxes, I want them.  I don’t know why, I don’t even like sugar that much.  Looking back on it, it must be the color.  Those boxes are just so damn cheery.

So like every year, my resolve broke and I bought some Conversation Hearts.  But I didn’t just buy a little box like you used to give to your middle school sweetheart.  Oh, no.  I bought a pound.  Because it said “DAZZLED” on it in big glittery letters and sometimes I am a 5-year old princess and standing under florescent lighting for too long causes me to make weird decisions.

And then after eating three I came to the yearly conclusion that I don’t so much like Conversation Hearts and am now stuck with a pound of them.  So I said screw it, we’re putting them in a recipe.  A sugar cookie sounds good.  But then I realized how much butter goes into a sugar cookie and that idea died quickly.  It’s not so much I hate all things fatty, it’s just butter is frickin’ expensive and I kind of enjoy that Justin and I can share a wardrobe.  So no sugar cookies.

I’m not going to lie, these cookies are weird.  I tried to make them “light” so they’re not a sugar cookie, because a truly light sugar cookie doesn’t exist.  They have a cakey texture and a tang from the jam which is highlighted by the tartness of the Conversation Heart topping (I used tart Conversation Hearts).  Consider them inspiration to do weird things with random candies you find yourself buying and then immediately regret.  Candy corn comes to mind.  I just use that as decoration and cat toys though.

Recipe:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup raspberry jam (no sugar added – or whatever you have)
4 tbsp unsalted butter
2 tbsp applesauce (no sugar added)
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1 oz conversation hearts (crushed, mine were tart)

Baking time: 8-10 minutes

Preheat oven 350°

Mix your jam, applesauce, butter (softened), vanilla, and sugar.

DSC_0003

Sift in your flour, baking powder/soda, and salt.

DSC_0004

Mix and then refrigerate until you can roll the dough in your hands without it sticking.  About 30 minutes.

DSC_0005

While your dough is chilling, break your hearts.  Food processor, blender, bashing them in a bag with a marble rolling pin.  Whatever your style is.

DSC_0010

Roll your dough into balls about 1 inch diameter in size and place on lightly greased baking sheet.

DSC_0012

Take a glass and dip the bottom in flour then press the dough balls flat.  It’s like we’re making sugar cookies, but I assure you they will taste nothing like them.

DSC_0013

Sprinkle with your heart crumbles.

DSC_0014

Or you can roll the dough balls in your crumbles and then press.  Or just sprinkle with sugar if you didn’t make a silly candy purchase.

DSC_0017

Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes.  Or until lightly golden.  Mine are a darker color already because I use unbleached flour.

DSC_0015

And done.

The Conversation Heart topping stays crunchy until you store them.  They’re still good when it gets soft, just different.

DSC_0016

Now you can walk the after holiday discounted candy aisle with hope knowing that you too can take unwanted stale candies and shove them in cookies where they probably don’t belong.  At least they look pretty.  🙂

DSC_0027

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Jam Heartbreakers

Leave a Reply

