Carrot and Oats Banana Bread with Cream Cheese Glaze

DSC_0022

It was Justin’s birthday a couple days ago and this was his birthday “cake.”  I know we’re lame.  But I was super busy and I can bust out a banana bread in about 10 minutes, that is if I’m not taking pictures of it.

Our birthday celebration for him consisted of Justin studying for one of his tests and me cleaning the bathrooms of a comedy theater.  We take care of each other that way.  Don’t worry, I ordered him an extra large pizza to help with his studying and to let him know I cared.  It then took us near a week to finish said pizza after realizing that when one forgoes eating grease laden food for an extended period of time, one loses the ability to properly digest it.  I’m sure you were really interested in hearing about our digestion!  Now that I’ve properly primed your palette…

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cups oats (old fashion)
1/2 cup applesauce (no sugar added)
2 bananas (mashed)
1 egg
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 cup carrot (1 medium size, grated)
1 3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt

Cream Cheese Glaze:

3 tbsp cream cheese (I use neufchâtel, easier to mix if it’s room temperature)
3 tbsp powdered sugar
1 tbsp milk

(these needn’t be exact measurements, I usually just throw the ingredients together until I get the consistency I desire)

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 350°

Mash your bananas.  Make them as paste-like as possible.  I’ve tried not mashing them as much leaving chunks, it didn’t end well.

DSC_0004

Grate your carrot.  You don’t have to do it into your banana mashings.  I just did because I lack counter space.

DSC_0005

Mix your applesauce and sugars together.  I use applesauce as a complete substitution for butter/oil.

DSC_0006

Whisk your egg in until just blended.

DSC_0008

Add your cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.

DSC_0010

Have your flours, baking soda/powder, salt ready to go.

DSC_0009

Sift a portion of your flour in followed by your banana/carrot mixture.  I usually add them in 1/4 portions, ending with the banana mixture.  Don’t mix completely after each addition.

DSC_0011

Now banana/carrot.

DSC_0012

And so on.  Add your oats in during your last flour addition.

DSC_0014

End with your banana/carrot mixture, this helps to ensure a moister bread.  If your batter looks too dry or too soupy here’s where you fix it and since you didn’t over mix throughout the whole recipe the banana bread won’t get angry at you.

DSC_0015

Pour into a lightly greased bread pan.

DSC_0016

Top with some oats if you’re in to that sort of thing.

DSC_0017

Bake for 1 hour at 350° or until an insert comes out clean.  Allow to cool and make your glaze.

DSC_0021

Since we did such a good job making a decently healthy banana bread, why not negate that by slathering it with a cream cheese glaze?

DSC_0025

5 thoughts on “Carrot and Oats Banana Bread with Cream Cheese Glaze

  1. Pingback: Lemon Lavender Banana Bread | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

