Mango Avocado Salsa

DSC_0123

Chips and salsa is a staple of my diet.  You can check out another one of my salsas, Black Bean and Corn Salsa here.  This one is kind of like a meal in and of itself, if you’re me anyway.  Avocados are super awesome for you and unlike guacamole they’re not the main attraction of this dish so it’s not too heavy and spreads out a little longer.  I was thinking of putting white beans in this to really turn it into a fast “meal,” but I thought that would muddy the mango and avocado flavor.

I made this right before I went through a period of having to work 12-13 hour days, 4 days in a row.  So Justin, being the lazy college person at heart that he is decided to only eat this for dinner.  Needless to say, I didn’t get much of it.  I’ll take it that that means it’s decently delicious, especially since Justin claims he doesn’t like mangoes that much.  Or he’s just a typical man and will eat pretty much anything that’s in front of him and it turns out my cooking skills suck and he’s been lying to me all these years or his palate is just that unrefined.  I’m not paranoid or anything and spend absolutely no time wondering the plausibility of this situation.

Recipe:

1 mango
1 avocado
28 oz can whole tomatoes (you can use diced but I think the flavor is better with whole)
1 tbsp tomato paste
1/2 onion (preferably red, but I never have one)
1 tbsp jalapeno (diced)
1 tbsp lime juice
1 tsp cilantro (dried)
2 garlic cloves
salt, pepper to taste

Cut and peel your mango/avocado.  Because people make me nervous when I see them cutting these things, I’m going to show you how I do it.  Granted, this is not the only right way it just happens to be what I consider the best way and I have yet to injure myself doing it.

How to cut a mango:

Cut the top and bottom off.  This is for stability and to help with peeling.

DSC_0097

Peel the mango starting with the top and working your way down.  Keep the mango on the cutting board.

DSC_0101

Yeah, you can use a peeler but why not take an easy opportunity to get more confident with your knife?

DSC_0102

Now cut around the pit.  It’s a tear drop shape that extends almost the entire length of the mango so you’re not going to be able to cut through it.  I start with the two wider sides then cut off the thinner sides.  Don’t try and force your knife through the pit.  If you hit it just work your knife around it.

DSC_0104

How to cut an avocado:

Slice your knife through until it hits the pit.

DSC_0075

Keep your knife in contact with the pit and rotate the avocado until you make a full rotation, keeping the avocado on the cutting board.  Only move the avocado, not your knife.

DSC_0077

Grab the avocado and twist to open.

DSC_0081

DSC_0083

Hold the avocado with a folded up dish towel and with the heel of your knife thwack the pit.  You don’t need a lot of force for the knife to go in and on very very rare occasions the seed can split on you which is one of the many reasons we have the dish towel.

DSC_0085

Give the knife a slight rotation and the seed should pop out.

DSC_0086

To remove the pit pinch it off with your thumb and index finger.  If it’s stuck on the there put the kitchen towel over the knife and then pinch.

DSC_0087

Now try and grow an avocado tree for the 20th time.

DSC_0089

Slice your avocado all the way through.  I don’t do any of that spoon scraping nonsense, I find it messy and I look for any excuse not to dirty yet another spoon.

DSC_0093

Then just peel.

DSC_0095

And cut into whatever size chunks you desire.

DSC_0096

Now let’s get to the actual salsa.

Strain and deseed your tomatoes, reserving the liquid.

DSC_0059

Add half of your tomatoes and liquid to the blender/food processor and chop the other half and add to a mixing bowl with your garlic.

DSC_0069

Chop 1/2 of your onion amount (or 1/4 of an onion since we’re only using 1/2 an onion) and add it.  Red onion would be preferable, if you don’t have it then consider cutting down your total amount of onion down to 1/4 depending on how much you like onion.

DSC_0070

Chop you mango, avocado, and jalapenos and mix together.  Reserve about 1/4 of your avocado and 1/4 of your mango.  Add your lime juice here.  Now this is what most mango avocado salsa look like.  I happen to kind of hate salsas like this.  If you like them then stop here I guess.

DSC_0105

Add your unused mango, avocado, onion, and tomato paste to your tomatoes and blend completely.

DSC_0106

Add your blended mixture to your chopped mixture and combine.  Salt, pepper to taste and add any other spices you like.

DSC_0108

Don’t forget to make it pretty.

DSC_0121

2 thoughts on “Mango Avocado Salsa

  1. Pingback: Avocado Pizza | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Avocado Pizza | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

