Healthy Wasabi Savory Granola

DSC_0022

Another savory granola you say?  Check out my other one — Healthy Coconut Curry Savory Granola here.  I love savory granolas and I don’t think people give them enough of a chance.  They’re just as versatile, I enjoy eating mine by itself or sprinkling it over a serving of rice.  I’ve paired this granola with some crystallized ginger chunks to give you some of that sweetness that seems to be  so necessary with most folks when it comes to eating granola.

Recipe:

3 cups oats (old fashion)
2 tbsp flax seed
2 tbsp sesame seed
1/2 cup almonds (raw, chopped)
1 tbsp whole wheat flour
2 oz crystallized ginger
1 tbsp wasabi powder
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp ginger powder
1/2 cup water
1/4-1/2 cup wasabi peas

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven 300°

Add oats, almonds, flax seed, sesame seed, and whole wheat flour to a mixing bowl.  Adding whole wheat flour gives the granola a little bit of stability.  It won’t make it chunky but it will make it so it’s a few oats stuck together with some of the ginger.  If you want it a little bit chunkier go up to 2 tbsp of flour and 1 egg white.

DSC_0002

Combine.  I added 1/2 of my ginger chunks before baking and 1/2 after.  The chunks I added before I cut smaller.

DSC_0003

In a small mixing bowl add your 1 tbsp wasabi powder to your 1/2 cup water.  I would say you could even go as high as 2 tbsp but Justin is a little more sensitive to heat than I am so I stuck to 1 tbsp.  This is the wasabi powder I bought because it was the highest concentration of wasabi I could find.  It wasn’t this expensive at the store.

DSC_0006

1 tbsp soy sauce.  I use the reduced sodium kind.

DSC_0007

1 tsp of ginger powder but you could definitely add more.

DSC_0009

Mix together.  Don’t forget to taste it, if it tastes too watery here then adding it to a bunch of oats will definitely not help the flavor.  Make sure the flavor is decently strong here.

DSC_0011

Pour into oat mixture and mix until there are no dry oats.  Mixture should clump in your hand.  Not as well as my other granola recipes but it shouldn’t be too dry.

DSC_0015

Spread and flatten onto lightly greased baking sheet.  I coat my hands with 1-2 tsp of oil and pat the top of the granola with these less chunky recipes.  I’m not sure what good it does but I tell myself it’s beneficial.

Bake in a 300° oven for 1 hour until the granola has a good crunch too it.  Toss whenever the ends start to brown faster.

Allow to cool and add additional ginger chunks and wasabi peas.  Store in air tight container.

DSC_0017

Enjoy by itself or with some rice and veggies!

DSC_0034

3 thoughts on “Healthy Wasabi Savory Granola

Leave a Reply

