Chicken Meatballs

DSC_0040_01

These meatballs are made with mushrooms.  The moisture from the mushrooms is used to replace the moisture we would have gotten from the addition of cheese.  Oh, yeah there isn’t cheese in these.  Cheese and I aren’t usually on the best of terms so I try to avoid it.  Plus, I love mushrooms.  They’re always in my fridge and I’m a slut for umami.

I typed in ‘Umami Slut’ in Google images just because I was bored and sometimes I like to live fast and loose with my internet searches and this is what came up.

967d7eafe3b4ae06135382773ad5c3011360715839_full

I know.  I was hella disappointed too.

Recipe: makes about 30 meatballs 

1/2 onion
16 oz ground chicken
1 egg
1 tsp salt (can cut down to 1/2 tsp if trying to reduce sodium)
1/2 tsp pepper
2 garlic cloves (crushed)
1 tbsp fish sauce
1/2 tsp oregano (dried)
1/2 tsp basil (dried)
4 tbsp breadcrumbs (I used Panko)
2 tbsp milk
4 oz mushroom (diced fine)

*My meat mixture ended up on the soft side because  I didn’t let my mushroom mixture cool enough and I was taking time to take pictures for you folks.  The meatballs stayed together fine but weren’t a perfect ball shape.  So just keep that in mind.

Dice your mushroom into very small chunks.

DSC_0001_01

I said ‘very small’ damn it.  There you go.

DSC_0002_01

Add to your pan over high heat.  Oh, what’s that nasty mush over my mushrooms?  Yeah, let me tell you a story about that.  The internet told me I could grate my onion.  I was all, “No you cannot, that seems like a downright foolish thing to attempt.” But then I was like, “Why would the internet lie?  It wouldn’t.  It’s filled with good and wholesome people who are not in any way what we would call stupid.”  It turns out I am a fool because I went ahead and grated my onion.  The first pass I made on my grater I thought, “What the fuck am I doing?’  But it was too late.  I already committed.  And when I commit, I commit hard.  The second pass I made onion juice went flying into my eye.  I thought, “Well this is pretty much exactly what I expected so I don’t know whether to be mad or not.”

The lesson here is onion juice in your eye is a bitch and don’t trust the internet.

DSC_0004_01

Cook your mushrooms/onions down.  Obviously if you don’t grate your onion make sure you add your onion before your mushrooms so it softens nicely.

Turn your heat down and add your garlic and your milk and 1/2 of your breadcrumbs (2 tbsp for me).

DSC_0005_01

Add any spices you like.  I did 1/2 tsp of basil/oregano.  Remove from heat and allow to cool.

DSC_0006_01

Add your meat, egg, and mushroom mixture along with salt and pepper to a mixing bowl.  Whisk your egg first if you want but I don’t find it necessary.  Don’t pull your meat out of the fridge until you’re ready to mix it.

DSC_0010_01

Gently mix with your fingers being careful not to over mix.  As it’s coming together add your other 1/2 of breadcrumbs (2 tbsp for me).

DSC_0012_01

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and make your meatballs.  I used a tbsp measure to spoon them out but you can make them up to 2 inches in diameter if you want.  I wouldn’t go any bigger than that though.

DSC_0013_01

I’m making my meatballs in a skillet but you can make them in the oven if you’d like.

Baking: 350° for 15-20 minutes.

If you’re doing it in the skillet there’s multiple ways to do it.  Some add enough oil to come halfway up the side of the meatball so you only turn it once.  I hate using that much oil because it costs money.  I just put in enough to coat the bottom of the skillet and turn it 4 times so all the sides cook evenly.  Cooking time will depend on the size of your meatball but for this size it took about 7-8 minutes.

These meatballs are going in my Italian Wedding Soup so I’m not going to cook them all the way through.  Just enough to get some good color on all the sides.

DSC_0023_01

Add as many as you feel comfortable adding to the skillet.

If you’re adding these to a sauce just cook halfway and finish in the sauce.

DSC_0021_01

Enjoy in some Italian Wedding Soup!  

DSC_0041_01

4 thoughts on “Chicken Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Italian Wedding Soup with Chicken Meatballs | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Italian Wedding Soup with Chicken Meatballs | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

