Italian Wedding Soup with Chicken Meatballs

DSC_0041_01

This soup was made using the Chicken Meatballs I posted last week.  The meatballs had finely diced mushrooms in them so I decided to add more to the soup.  I love mushrooms, I’ve been eating them every day probably since middle school.

I’ll admit I’ve never had Italian Wedding Soup that didn’t come out of a red labeled can so I am not a good judge on what a proper Italian Wedding Soup should taste like.  But I know what good tastes like and this soup passed my ‘good’ test.  Now that I have your confidence in my discerning palate…

Recipe:

1 small-medium onion (sliced)
1 carrot (diced)
1 celery (diced-I didn’t have one but it would be good to put in)
1 green pepper (diced)
4 oz mushroom (sliced)
4 cloves garlic (crushed)
9 oz spinach (fresh, amount need not be specific)
8-12 cups low/no sodium chicken stock (depending on how brothy you like your soup)
8 oz pasta (I used fagioli but was looking for acini di pepe at the store)

Soften your onion, carrot, and celery (if using) in a lightly oiled and heated soup pot.  I like to slice my onions because I like when they do that hangy of the spoon thing like in French Onion soup.  It’s up to you how you’d like your onions to hang or not hang off your spoon.

DSC_0015_01

When your onion and carrot has softened add your pepper and cook for a minute or two.

DSC_0019_01

Then add your mushrooms and garlic, cook for a couple minutes.  You can lightly salt here too if you’re using low sodium broth.

DSC_0020_01

Add your broth and meatballs (mine are partially cooked) and bring to a boil.  When you reach a boil add your noodles.

DSC_0025_01

Near the end of the boiling time for you noodles add your spinach.  The spinach only needs a minute.

DSC_0029_01

My soup looks a little noodle-heavy.  That’s because Justin begged me to add more.  I wound up adding 16 oz and it got a little excessive, stick with the 8 oz.

DSC_0048_01

6 thoughts on “Italian Wedding Soup with Chicken Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Chicken Meatballs | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Chicken Meatballs | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

