Apple Goat Cheese Pizza

DSC_0058_01

I always forget how easy it is to make pizza.  Every time I make it I think to myself, why do I feel the need to ever order pizza (granted that pretty much never happens because I’m not a huge fan of the overgreased, overpriced crap near me, but still).  This pizza was made using a whole wheat crust, you can check it out here.  Justin was worried the pizza was going to be dry because of the lack of sauce and that it would taste like a dessert.  No faith I tell you.  Surprise, he loved it and gorged himself on it.  The mixed greens taste great on the pizza, so I encourage if you do make this to use them.

Recipe:
Baking time: 8 minutes

2 apples (I used Granny Smith, very thinly sliced)
2 ounces goat cheese
2 strips bacon
1/2 red onion (thinly sliced)
2 tbsp pecans (toasted, chopped)
*6 tbsp vinaigrette
Mixed greens for topping

*I had a vinaigrette spice mix from Penzey’s that I used for my vinaigrette.  1 tbsp Country French Vinaigrette (sugar, mustard, salt, garlic, black pepper, lemon peel, onion, tarragon, chives, white pepper, thyme, and rosemary) + 3 tbsp water + 3 tbsp red wine vinegar + 1 tbsp oil.

Preheat oven 450°

Add your vinaigrette to a bowl.  Thinly slice your apples and onion and add to vinaigrette.

DSC_0029_01

With your onion and apples in your vinaigrette, shape your dough.

DSC_0031_01

I covered my dough with a tea towel and it developed too much of a crust.  I suggest covering it with a damp tea towel or saran wrap.  It didn’t ruin the dough or anything, just something to keep in mind.

DSC_0033_01

Shape your dough using whatever way you find easiest.  I toss it back and forth a couple times…

DSC_0034_01

…then gently stretch with my right hand holding the dough down with my left.   The edge of my left palm creates the crust.

DSC_0040_01

Stretch until it’s about 1 foot in diameter and brush with olive oil.

DSC_0041_01

I don’t have a pizza peel or stone, just a pizza pan with holes in it.  I tried to use a baking sheet as a makeshift peel, it didn’t work out so great.  Anyway, take your onion and apple slices out of your vinaigrette and save it.  You may have some apple left over.  Decorate your pizza any way you like.  Top with your goat cheese.  Bake in 450° oven for 8 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

DSC_0044_01

While your pizza is baking, make your bacon and chop it.

DSC_0047_01

Top your pizza with the bacon and pecans.  Toss your mixed greens with your remaining vinaigrette and add as much as you want to the pizza.

DSC_0050_01

Enjoy!

DSC_0063_01

11 thoughts on “Apple Goat Cheese Pizza

  1. Pingback: Whole Wheat Pizza Dough | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Your pizza looks delicious, I have to make this one day I love goat cheese so I know this will be a great recipe to try.

    • I was actually surprised how much I wound up loving this pizza. I thought it was going to be a “yeah, it was good but I probably won’t make it again” kind of thing. Justin and I both loved it and it reheated well too. I hope you enjoy it!

  3. Pingback: Avocado Pizza | Our Studio Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Bread Making: Whole Wheat Pizza Dough | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

