Potato Broccoli Soup

DSC_0028_01

Soups are a great way to get rid of random odds and ends in your refrigerator.  I’m a fan of them.  I’m also a fan of this soup because it’s creamy without the use of dairy.

This soup is made a little weird, you’ll see why in a bit.  If you want more of a traditional cream soup that’s still a little on the healthy side you can check out my Broccoli Cheddar Soup.  The soups are similar, but still different. 

Recipe:

4 slices bacon (I use turkey, optional)
1 onion (diced)
2 carrots (diced)
4 potatoes (russet, diced) *I leave the skins on
1/2 broccoli head (diced)
3 garlic cloves (diced)
4 cups chicken broth (I use low sodium, can use vegetable)
2 cups water *I do this because 6 cups chicken broth is too much for me but to each their own
3 tbsp flour
3 tbsp butter
1 tsp ancho chili powder (optional)

Make your bacon.  Yet another one of my recipes is starting with this phrase.  I make it in my soup pot because I want to use any bacon fat that comes off.  It being turkey, there’s not a lot but whatever.  The intent is there.

DSC_0007_01

When your bacon is done remove it to a paper towel.  Add your onion and soften it for a minute or so then add your carrot and cook for another minute.

DSC_0009_01

Before adding your potatoes make sure you rinse them to get off the excess starch.  Necessary?  No.  Ideal?  Sure.

DSC_0008_01

Add your potatoes, broccoli, and garlic and cook for another couple minutes.  Go ahead and salt here.  How much salt you put is totally dependent on your needs/wants/desires and I’m not about to try and dictate the workings of your id.

DSC_0015_01

Now my next steps are a little weird but I’m trying to be honest with you here.  Yes I know how to make a traditional roux.  But sometimes I don’t feel like it.  Sometimes I’m weird and like to add my butter and flour after.  Why?  I don’t really have a reason other than the fact that sometimes, even though I’m taking pictures of it, I decide what I’m making halfway through a dish.

So here we go, this a soup thickener made on the fly.  Bonus points if you also make it in a $2 Spongebob mug.

Melt your butter in the microwave.  (If we had planned ahead we would have softened the onions for a few minutes and then added the butter.)

DSC_0018_01

Then add your flour and combined until thoroughly mixed.  (If we had planned ahead we would have added the flour to our butter/onion after the butter melted and turned frothy.  Then we would have whisked it together.)

DSC_0019_01

Pour your butter/flour mix into your pot and toss with your vegetables.  Cook as you would a blond roux, until you get that slight nutty smell.  (If we had planned ahead we would have made the blond roux then whisked our stock into it and then added the rest of our vegetables.)

DSC_0020_01

Now add your stock and bring to a boil.  Alright, both version are now on the same page.  Simmer for about 15 minutes or until your vegetables are tender.  The soup will continue to thicken as it cooks.

DSC_0024_01

Remove from heat.  Now you can either leave it chunky or take an immersion blender to it or pour half of the soup into a blender and lightly blend it to break up some of the chunks.  This will also make the soup creamier with out having to add, you guessed it, cream.

DSC_0022_01

I decided to go the immersion blender route.  Feel free to add some half and half or whatever if you want to cream it up.  I don’t because I’m not much of a dairy person.  Salt and pepper to taste.

DSC_0025_01

I used the bacon, greek yogurt (I love using greek yogurt instead of sour cream), and ancho chili powder as a garnish.  I’m really vibing ancho lately and putting it into everything, coffee, chocolate, soup, whatever.  You should try it, especially in a latte, it’s wonderful.

DSC_0029_01

2 thoughts on “Potato Broccoli Soup

Leave a Reply

