Roasted Veggie Hummus

DSC_0252_01

Yay!  Another hummus recipe.  I’ve made some others, you can check them out if you feel like it.

Roasted Red Pepper and Spinach Hummus
Spicy Spinach Artichoke Hummus

Kalamata Olive and Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

Hummus is a wonderful snack, but I find the ones you buy at the store contain way too much oil.  In fact I don’t put any oil in my hummus.  I just never seem to need it.  I’m sure if I made plain hummus I would feel the need but I wind up putting so many additions to get some extra nutrients that it never seems to be an issue.

Alright, time for “Roasted Veggie Hummus” or “Things that are about to go bad in my fridge Hummus.”  Whichever seems more appealing to you, but the latter is a common theme with my recipes so if you like this blog you better get used it.

Fancy eating today!

Recipe:

1 carrot
1/2 pepper (whatever color your have)
1/2 broccoli crown
2 garlic cloves
3 cups chick peas (2 cans drained or 1/2 lb dry)
1/2 cup water + 1/4 (if needed)
2-3 tbsp tahini
2 tbsp lemon juice
salt, pepper to taste
ground cumin garnish

For those of you crazy with your measurements all of my veggies came in between 2.5-3.0 ounces.

Cut up your veggies and roast them.  I roasted mine in the oven with no oil for about 30 min at 375°.  It’s not absolutely necessary you roast your vegetables but it will taste completely different.  It will still be a good dish, but you’re lazy or you’re one of those people who doesn’t cook food higher than the temperature of the sun on the earth…which, different strokes I guess.

Ignore that rogue onion in there, he had different plans.

DSC_0223_01

While your veggies are roasting you can prepare your chick peas.  I like to use canned because it makes the hummus cheaper that way but more time consuming…but tastier.  So you decide what you feel like doing.  If you use dried you’ll probably need more water and salt if you didn’t salt your beans when you made them.

Add your beans, water, lemon juice, and tahini to your blender or food processor.

DSC_0229_01

Blend until smooth.

DSC_0241_01

Now your veggies should be done.

DSC_0246_01

Add your veggies and blend until there are no more chunks.  Add that extra 1/4 cup water if need be.  Taste and add your necessary amount of salt.

DSC_0248_01

I topped it with some ground cumin, enjoy!

DSC_0256_01

4 thoughts on “Roasted Veggie Hummus

  1. I tend to make a lot of recipes that could also be called “Things that are about to go bad in my fridge [or have been sitting in my pantry WAY TOO LONG]”. Yay for not wasting food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

