Vegetable Quinoa Burritos

DSC_0083_01

This is not your typical burrito, but it’s delicious, so read on.

This dish is one of my favorite things that I make.  I started making it a little over a month ago and Justin and I have been eating it for dinner ever since.  We just haven’t gotten sick of it yet.  It is probably the perfect balance of cost effectiveness, nutrient richness, and tastiness that I’ve managed to make so we’re sticking with it for the time being.  Even though it contains more expensive ingredients like avocado, mango, and the nicer lettuce our grocery bill has dropped noticeably because the bulk of the dish lasts so long .  One batch of this lasts Justin and I about 5 days with both of us eating about 2-3 a day.

It’s also open to customization  which is always important in recipes for me.  But I haven’t found the need to do much of that yet.  I guess we really love burritos.

Recipe

1 cup quinoa
1 onion (diced)
4 ounces mushrooms (chopped fine)
3-5 cloves garlic (chopped)
2 carrots (diced or grated)
2 small peppers or 1 large (diced)
1 cup corn
1 28 ounce can whole tomatoes
1 cup dried kidney beans
1 cup dried garbanzo beans
1 tbsp epazote (optional)
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp cayenne pepper
salt to taste
2 tsp cilantro (dried)

Toppings

medium size burrito shells
spring mix lettuce
0% greek yogurt
flax seed
mango slices
avocado slices

Prepare all your vegetables.  How large you cut everything is dependent on your preference but I would dice the mushrooms very fine because their purpose is to mimic the texture of ground meat.  Obviously it doesn’t come close, but you get the idea.  I’ve used as much as a whole 8 oz package of mushrooms and the dish still works out wonderfully.

DSC_0004_01

Soften your onion and carrot in your cooking vessel.  Vessel should be large enough to hold all of your ingredients at the end.  How much or little oil you use is up to you, I use probably 1/2 tsp.

Sometimes I grate my carrots instead of dicing them.  If you grate them you can add them later with your mushrooms.

DSC_0001_01

Add your peppers and soften slightly.  Don’t forget to lightly salt in between each addition.  Emphasis on “lightly.”

DSC_0005_01

Add your mushrooms and cook down.

DSC_0008_01

Add your corn.

DSC_0009_01

Add your tomatoes.  I like to use whole tomatoes in anything that requires tomatoes because I think the flavor is better and I find them easier to deal with.  I just pull them out of the can, split them open and rinse them under the sink to remove some of the seeds, and rip them into my pot.  You can cut them on a cutting board but all the juice gets everywhere and I can’t be bothered to clean that up.  Reserve your liquid.

DSC_0016_01

Now add your beans.  I use 1 cup of kidney beans and 1 cup garbanzo beans but have used black beans, pinto beans, white beans, and pink beans in the past.  It’s really hard to go wrong.  Just find out what combination you prefer.  I use dried beans because it makes the dish cheaper overall and it tastes better but you can use canned if you haven’t joined the dry side.  The conversion is:

2 cup dried beans (this recipe) = 6 cups cooked beans = 4, 15 oz cans beans

DSC_0032_01

Add any spices you’d like.  I’m adding epazote and cilantro.  What is epazote?  Epazote is an herb with a pungent flavor compared to that of anise, fennel, or tarragon and is traditionally used in Mexican dishes for flavor and its carminative properties (ability to prevent the formation of gas in the GI tract, meaning you don’t toot as much-bonus!).

DSC_0034_01

Add your quinoa.  If your mixture looks a little dry add some of your liquid from your tomatoes.  Add as much as you need.  I usually wind up adding the whole can.  Cook everything for a few minutes on low to let the flavors meld.

DSC_0042_01

Warm your shells in the microwave or on the stove.  Justin and I eat 1-2 each depending on how hungry we are.

DSC_0047_01

Set up your goodies.  We serve it with Greek yogurt, flax seed, mango, avocado, and mixed green lettuce.

DSC_0057_01

Now I’m going to teach you how to make a burrito, because you always cater to your stupidest reader.  No, I just felt like taking more pictures.

DSC_0061_01

DSC_0063_01

You can skip on the mango or avocado but I think they really do add something to the dish that would be lacking otherwise.  And if you don’t like mango try it in this dish, for whatever reason Justin hates mangoes but loves them in this.  Doesn’t make sense to me but, whatever.

DSC_0064_01

We started using 0% Greek yogurt instead of sour cream a while back and found we actually prefer it, plus you get more protein and less calories with the Greek yogurt.

DSC_0065_01

You can grind your flax seed if you want to make them easier to digest but we’re mostly adding them because we like the crunch.

DSC_0070_01

I usually add 3x this much lettuce but that didn’t make for a very pretty picture.

DSC_0073_01

Enjoy!

DSC_0086_01

Leave a Reply

