Sunflower Cashew Pesto (part 2)

DSC_0051_01

In my original Sunflower Cashew Pesto recipe I chopped up everything by hand to show you you don’t need a blender or food processor to make pesto.  But then I wanted to show you how creamy this recipe gets when you do blend it.  The recipe is also slightly altered because I rarely make the same thing twice.

Recipe:

3 tbsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves
1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds (soaked)
1/4 cup raw cashews (soaked)
60 g basil
30 g spinach
1/2 lemon (juiced)
1/2 tsp salt

Like the original recipe, soak your seeds/nuts for at least an hour.  This softens them and brings another flavor dimension to them.  Just trust me or if you don’t, try it and you’ll see for yourself.  Either way you’ll have soaked your nuts.  Yes.

DSC_0005_01

But now it gets different.  Throw all your seeds/nuts, oil, salt, garlic, basil, and spinach into hopefully your food processor.  If you’re using a blender, bless you.  It’s going to be a pain in the ass.

DSC_0049_01

I’m using the ball jar trick I read on the internets to blend my pesto.  I kind of don’t recommend it because it’s a little scary, the jar likes to unscrew from the lid while it’s blending so you have to keep your hand on it and I had this fear the glass was going to shatter in my hand.  All for you folks.  And you have to keep opening it up to get all the ingredients down to the blade and it can get messy.  But fuck it, it looks pretty.

DSC_0050_01

If you don’t add the spinach it will still be delicious and creamy.  The cashews are what really give it that creaminess.  The spinach doesn’t really add much in the way of flavor, more so color, volume, and nutrients.  But last time I checked those were all good things, usually when you’re talking about hair, but I assume the same goes for pesto.

DSC_0052_01

This is delicious on pizza, so do that if you want.

DSC_0074_01

 

5 thoughts on “Sunflower Cashew Pesto (part 2)

  1. Pingback: Sunflower Cashew Pesto | Our Studio Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Cherry Tomato and Greens Pasta | Our Studio Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Sunflower Cashew Pesto | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

