Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Balls

DSC_0112_01

Today is Tough Mudder and Justin is participating.  I was going to join him but I’m a lazy bastard, no I’m just a cheap one.  If you don’t know what Tough Mudder is, it’s where people pay to get the crap beat out of them, I don’t know, different strokes I guess.  Last minute I decided to make these protein balls for him the morning he left which explains my lack of a lighting setup.  Why I decided to make protein balls at 8:00 in the morning is beyond me, but you get a recipe out of it.

Nutrition Information: 1 ball per serving, 20 balls total (depending on what milk/protein powder you use)
Calories: 115
Fat: 6 g
Carbohydrates: 11 g
Fiber: 3 g
Sugar: 2 g
Protein: 6 g

If you’re looking for a more protein dense snack, check out my Vanilla Cashew Coconut Protein Bars.

Recipe

1/2 cup old fashion oats (ground)
1 cup old fashion oats (whole)
2 cups wheat puff cereal (or any non sugary, wheaty, puffy cereal)
2 tbsp ground flax
1/4 cup peanuts (raw, chopped)
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (raw)
2 scoops protein powder (46 g for me)
6 tbsp peanut butter
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup skim milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt

Coating: (roasted)

1/4 cup peanuts
1/4 cup old fashion oats
2 tbsp flax seed

Preheat oven 350°

Grind up 1/2 cup oats, the measurement is taken before you grind them.

DSC_0063_01

Add all your dry ingredients except your protein powder to a large mixing bowl.

DSC_0101_01

Mix together your applesauce, peanut butter, vanilla, protein powder, and milk.

DSC_0093_01

Add your milk in last to better mix in your peanut butter.

DSC_0103_01

This is the segment of this post where I encourage you to steer clear of a particular product.  I bought this protein powder because I read somewhere too much over processed soy can be bad for you.  Granted everything nowadays is bad for you but my inner hippy just could not be quelled at my last GNC visit.  So I bought this raw, organic protein for twice the price of regular protein powder containing brown rice protein, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, flax seed, chia seed…basically everything in the bulk section at Whole Foods.  Seriously, how delicious does that sound?  Amazing right?  Spoiler alert it tastes like shit, and I’m super pissed about it.  And don’t trust those 4 and 5 star reviews on the internets saying this is the best protein powder ever.  They’re probably written by yuppy, hippy vegans who have long forgotten what real food is supposed to taste like.  That was mean, but I’m angry and now I’m stuck with a $30 tub of chalk.

In my other protein bar recipe my powder was much more palatable so I added 4 scoops, this was so chalky I couldn’t get away with more than 2.  If you want more protein in this recipe I would say add up to 4 scoops per your powder’s measuring device.

DSC_0094_01

Add your wet to your dry and mix thoroughly.

DSC_0104_01

Drop onto a parchment lined baking sheet as you would cookie dough.  How big you make them is up to you I wound up with 20.   Put in the freezer to harden slightly.

DSC_0107_01

While your batter is in the freezer add your coating ingredients to a cookie sheet and place in your preheated oven.  Move them around every couple minutes to prevent burning and they should be done in about 10 minutes.

DSC_0106_01

Remove your coating from oven and cool, then chop.

DSC_0109_01

Remove batter from freezer and shape into tighter balls.  Roll in coating, pressing as you roll to encourage sticking.  While not necessary to refrigerate, they will keep longer if you do.  I wrap mine individually in small saran wrap squares and put in ziploc bags.

DSC_0114_01

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Balls

Leave a Reply

