White Chocolate Bacon Biscotti

DSC_0056_01

Some bacon was getting close to its expiration date and there was a white chocolate Easter bunny starting to melt on my kitchen counter in my 90° non-air conditioned NYC apartment.  You know what that means, White Chocolate Bacon Biscotti time!  What else, right?  Heavens forbid we eat them separate, that would just be…inefficient.

Recipe:

2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
4 oz bacon (4 strips for me)
4 oz white chocolate (my bunny was only 3 oz but my original plan was 4, so just go with that)

Preheat oven 325°

What would one of my recipes be without starting with, make your bacon.  As usual, I’m using turkey because I enjoy the fact I’m the same size I was in high school and I decided ahead of time that I was going to be eating a lot of these.  Start your bacon in a cold pan over low heat.

DSC_0001_01

Whisk your salt, flour, and baking powder together in a mixing bowl.

DSC_0006_01

Keep an eye on your bacon.  If any recipe tells you bacon takes 5 minutes on the stove they’re lying and they should be ashamed.  Bacon making is a low and slow process.  You can do it in the oven if you want to avoid having to keep an eye on it as much but I like to make my cast iron happy.

DSC_0016_01

While your bacon is finishing up prepare your chocolate, or bunny.  Poor bastard never had a chance.

DSC_0012_01

Melt your chocolate in a pot over low heat or in a double boiler.  It was such a small amount of chocolate I couldn’t be bothered to use one.  If your chocolate is having some melting issues you can encourage it by adding the tiniest amount of shortening, we’re talking 1/2 tsp tops.  Just to lube it up a bit.

DSC_0015_01

After you’ve dried your bacon on some paper towels and chopped it, add the pieces to your melted chocolate.

DSC_0025_01

Pour out onto some parchment or wax paper and spread out evenly.  Place in your freezer for 5-10 minutes or until hardened.

DSC_0026_01

While your chocolate is freezing start mixing your eggs and sugar.  Yes there are supposed to be 3 eggs in there, I got a little eager with my camera.  Beat the eggs until they’re a pale yellow, should take a couple minutes.

DSC_0027_01

While your eggs are beating your chocolate should be good to go.  If it’s not, you didn’t listen to me about adding in too much shortening.  If it is, congratulations you just made a bacon chocolate bar, now go to your local farmer’s market and sell it for $10 a pop.

DSC_0031_01

Chop it up.

DSC_0035_01

Now your eggs are ready.  They’ll be a little darker because we used brown sugar but because I took a picture it should be pretty easy for you to figure out what they should look like.

DSC_0032_01

Now add your vanilla and dry mixture and beat until just blended.

DSC_0034_01

Add your bacon chocolate.

DSC_0036_01

And mix.  If you wanted to you could just add bacon pieces and chocolate pieces separately.  But this way when the biscotti bakes, the bacon gets a white chocolate infused flavor which I think is nice.

DSC_0037_01

Pour your dough out on a parchment lined baking sheet and separate into two equal chunks.

DSC_0038_01

With wet hands shape your dough into logs that are about 4 inches apart.  Mine were about 8 x 2.5 inches.  You should probably go closer to 10 inches long but it was brutally hot in my kitchen and my dough was getting sticky.

DSC_0039_01

Bake your dough in your preheated 325° for 35 minutes or until very lightly browned and the tops are firm.

DSC_0041_01

Remove from oven and allow to cool.  When cool cut with a serrated knife.  I cut mine a tad thick, the heat was getting to me.  Go for about 3/4 inch.

DSC_0042_01

Lay back onto baking sheet and bake for another 25 minutes, I flipped halfway through.

DSC_0043_01

They should have a nice light golden color to them and will continue to harden as they cool.

DSC_0044_01

Move to cooling rack.  Because they have brown sugar in them these biscotti have a little insurance from becoming too hard like other recipes.  But you still need to be mindful and keep a close eye on them during their second round of baking.

DSC_0048

Enjoy!

DSC_0058_01

Leave a Reply

