Lemon Lavender Banana Bread

DSC_0117_01

For those of you who’ve checked out this blog before, you know I love making banana bread.  So far I’ve got, Tropical Mango Banana BreadOrange Pomegranate Banana BreadLemon Poppy Seed Banana BreadChocolate Espresso Banana Bread, and Carrot and Oats Banana Bread with Cream Cheese Glaze with more to come.  Banana bread was the first thing I really started experimenting with and is what got me excited about baking.  I encourage you to develop your own banana bread foundation and begin experimenting with flavor combinations.

I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this before but I have a new found obsession with bitters.  I had never had it before a couple months ago and now I can’t get enough of the stuff.  I’m putting it in everything.  The initial cost seems expensive at first, but it’s like vanilla extract, a little goes a long way.  Oh, and put a couple dashes in  some seltzer water, shut up.

I decided to experiment with my standard banana bread base and omit the unsweetened applesauce.  I replaced it completely with Greek yogurt because I wanted to use honey for some of my sugar and I find honey and yogurt together to be heavenly.  Usually when you use honey instead of sugar you have to adjust your dry ingredients slightly to compensate for the excess moisture in the honey.  But I figured Greek yogurt was less liquidy then applesauce and kept my flour amounts the same.  It worked out.

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1 egg
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp lavender bitters OR 1 tbsp dried lavender
2 bananas (mashed)
1 lemon (zest, juiced)

Baking time: 1 hour

Preheat oven: 350°

Get your honey ready, I’m using a lighter flavor blueberry blossoms honey.  You don’t want the honey flavor to be too strong for this.

DSC_0054_01

Get your flours, baking soda/powder, and salt together.

DSC_0062_01

Mash your banana.  I add my lemon zest and juice to my bananas.  I don’t add it to my wet mixture because I don’t want to risk the acid in the lemon breaking down the egg and I don’t like adding it at the end because I think that encourages over mixing your batter.  I also add my bitters here.

If you don’t have bitters but you have lavender then you can steep it in your lemon juice (heat your lemon juice slightly).  You can put the lavender in your batter or you can strain it out, I’ve left it in the past and it’s so tender you don’t even notice you’re biting into it.

DSC_0059_01

Add your Greek yogurt to your mashed bananas as well.

DSC_0063_01

Whisk your egg, sugar, and honey together until just mixed.

DSC_0056_01

DSC_0061_01

Start sifting your flour mixture into your sugar/egg mixture in small portions.

DSC_0064_01

Mix gently and do not mix completely.

DSC_0067_01

Follow this with a scoop of your banana/yogurt mixture.

DSC_0069_01

Then some more flour.

DSC_0070_01

Followed by some more banana.

DSC_0071_01

And so on until you finish both mixtures, making sure you end with your wet mixture (gives you a moister bread).  Near the end of your final mixing, give it a taste.  If it needs more lavender or lemon or it’s looking to soupy or dry or whatever, now is the time to add something and because you’ve been careful about your mixing you’re less likely to over mix when you do your additions.

DSC_0072_01

Pour into greased bread pan.  Your batter should be quite viscous and not pour into the pan like a cake batter would.

Bake in your preheated 350° for 1 hour or until cake tester comes out clean.

DSC_0078_01

Enjoy!

DSC_0111_01

3 thoughts on “Lemon Lavender Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Lemon Lavender Blueberry Scones | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

