Black Bean Burrito Burger

DSC_0175_01

This is a weird name for a dish, I know but bear with me.  I was wanting to make a veggie burger type deal but a lot of the recipes I came across had bread crumbs in them as a binder.  I didn’t want to do that so I just decided to throw together what I had available to me.  The end result tasted more burrito-y than burger-y to me and I only had wraps on hand, hence the name.

This recipe is to show you can pretty much throw any kind of vegetable, bean, and grain/seed into a veggie burger recipe and it probably won’t suck.  Just be open to the resulting outcome.

Recipe: (makes 6, 4 oz patties) 

1 can kidney beans (rinsed, drained)
1 can black beans (rinsed, drained)
1 cup brown rice
1 tomato (diced)
1/4 green pepper (diced)
1 red onion (diced)
3 garlic cloves (diced)
1/2 jalapeno (diced)
1/2 cup corn
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp chili powder

Toppings:

red onion
lettuce
soy cheese
salsa
mango
avocado

Prep all your veggies.  I roasted mine 30 minutes in a 400° oven.  If you’re lazy you could soften them in a pan over medium heat for a few minutes.

DSC_0152_01

Just until they start to get a good color.  Wait to dice your garlic until after you roast it to prevent it from burning.

DSC_0157_01

Drain and rinse your beans.  What?!  Canned beans?!  Yes, sometimes I get lazy and give no fucks.

DSC_0154_01

Mash ’em up.

DSC_0155_01

Add your cooked rice.

DSC_0159_01

You could do anything you want here.  Quinoa, cous cous, millet, oats, whatever.

DSC_0161_01

Now add your roasted veggies.

DSC_0162_01

And any spices you want.

DSC_0163_01

Get your fixins ready.  At this stage in my life, a day without avocado and mango is a day not fully realized.

DSC_0164_01

Because I’m putting these in wraps I made them to fit the shape of a wrap better but you can do whatever you like.

Put a little bit of oil in your pan and cook over medium heat for about 2-3 minutes per side.

DSC_0165_01

Now I’m not going to lie to you.  Veggie burgers are a lot more delicate than regular meat burgers.  It is possible to flip them without breaking them, it’s just a little harder.  And no you can’t make these on a grill.  No veggie burger you make will have that mouth feel a traditional burger gives you, so either deal with it or have a hamburger.

Now you might be arguing that the frozen Morningstar Veggie Burgers you buy ARE stable and CAN be made on a grill.  Well, I would retort there isn’t a whole lot of vegetable action happening in a Morningstar Veggie Burger.

WATER, TEXTURED SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, CORN OIL, CONTAINS TWO PERCENT OR LESS OF AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, VEGETABLE GUM, NATURAL FLAVORS FROM VEGETABLE SOURCES, MALTODEXTRIN, SOY FIBER, SALT, CARRAGEENAN, POTATO STARCH, ONION POWDER, CARAMEL COLOR, DISODIUM INOSINATE, DISODIUM GUANYLATE, KONJAC FLOUR, SUNFLOWER OIL, SESAME SEED OIL, SOY SAUCE (WATER, SOYBEANS, WHEAT, SALT), CONCENTRATED ONION JUICE, ASCORBIC ACID, VINEGAR POWDER, CITRIC ACID, ASPARTIC ACID, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, MALIC ACID, SUCCINIC ACID, TARTARIC ACID, LACTIC ACID, WHEAT FLOUR, SOY LECITHIN.

Anyway, if you want these to be a little more stable you can add some breadcrumbs but I believe that’s the thing I said I was trying to avoid in the first place.  But to each their own.

Carefully flip, getting a gold color on each side.

DSC_0167_01

Serve and enjoy!

DSC_0168_01

4 thoughts on “Black Bean Burrito Burger

Leave a Reply

