Pineapple Kiwi Salsa

DSC_0068_01

It’s summertime so it’s time for fruity salsas.  This is a very quick and easy salsa to make if you’re looking for something a little different.  Most fruit salsas are just chopped up chunks of the ingredients thrown together in a bowl.  While that might be good for some people, those types of salsa make me sad and I want them nowhere near my person.  I want my salsa to be thick and full of tomato-y flavor.  If you want just bits of fruit thrown together, I don’t know, make a fruit salad or something.

Recipe:

1 kiwi (chopped)
1 ring pineapple (100 g, chopped)
1 garlic clove (added to blender)
1/2 small red onion (1/2 chopped, 1/2 added to blender)
1 tsp dried cilantro OR 1 tbsp fresh
1 tbsp lime juice
1 red pepper (roasted, chopped)
28 oz can whole tomatoes (1/2 chopped, 1/2 added to blender)
salt to taste (if needed)

Roast your pepper.  You can add it raw to your salsa but I like roasting it because it brings out the flavor more.

If you’re not roasting it on the stove top you can also roast it in the oven.  400° for 30-40 minutes.

DSC_0048_01

When the skin is blackened all around remove from stove top and place in a covered bowl.

DSC_0049_01

While your pepper is resting you can chop your pineapple and kiwi.  Add them to a bowl with your lime juice and cilantro.

DSC_0050_01

After a few minutes the steam accumulated in your pepper bowl will have softened the pepper skin and it will remove easily.  You can either wipe it off or rinse it off.  Dice the pepper and add it to your fruit bowl.

DSC_0053_01

Deseed your tomatoes.  Is this absolutely necessary?  No.  But the seeds lend to a bitter flavor that can be noticed by some people.  Whether or not your remove them depends on how lazy you’re feeling that day.

I add half of my tomatoes to a blender (with the juice, garlic, and 1/2 my onion) and dice the other half.

DSC_0051_01

Add your diced tomatoes to your bowl along with your diced onion.

I usually dice half of my onion and blend the other half.  Blending the onion produces a stronger onion flavor over all but then you don’t have as many onion chunks to bite into.  I feel like splitting the difference creates the balance of onion flavor I desire.

DSC_0057_01

Add your blended tomato.  Because of the sugars in this salsa I don’t feel the need to add anything to make it thicker, but if you do you can add tomato paste (my go to salsa thickener) or arrowroot/corn starch or xanthan gum.

Enjoy!

DSC_0058_01

Leave a Reply

