Chocolate Spelt Pancakes

DSC_0318_01

It’s fun buying a spiffy, tiny bag of a different grain you’ve never used before.  I’ve bought spelt flour before, but I’m just saying it’s fun if you haven’t.  Who am I kidding?  It’s fun even if you have.  I try and avoid the baking aisle at Whole Foods and stores of that nature because all those bags of flour are just too tempting  I can’t resist them.  They just look so fancy!  Oh and the packaging, they get me every time with the packaging.

LCFlourssmall

They’re just so pretty  I can’t handle it.

But then I remember I have no money for superfluous flour and I get a sad.

But then I remember that I had indulged in my flour desires a couple months ago and there is a bag of spelt flour in my pantry with 1 cup in it and that is exactly how much I need to make some spelt pancakes.

On to the pancakes!

Because I only had 1 cup of spelt flour I decided to add almond meal to this, which then made me want to add greek yogurt to up the protein factor even more.

Hey, look at me!  I got the Nutrition Facts thing going!

Recipe: (makes about 12 pancakes)  NutritionLabel

1 cup spelt flour
1/2 cup almond (raw, ground)
1 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 tsp ginger powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1 egg white
1/2 cup Greek Yogurt (I use 0%)
1 cup almond milk

Blend or process your almonds.  The 1/2 cup measurement was taken as whole almonds.

DSC_0294_01

When they start getting a good blend to them go ahead and add your spelt flour, baking powder/soda, salt, ginger/cinnamon, and cocoa powder.  These are a light cocoa flavor.  Feel free to add more if you like.  I don’t know it’s the morning, I don’t want to be smashed in the face with chocolate, even if it is low sugar.

The ginger and cinnamon is optional I just love ginger and cinnamon with cocoa powder and they’re all supposed to be good for digestion so why not eat them all together.

Spelt is also a lower gluten flour so it should be good for people with gluten sensitivities (not intolerance of course).  If you don’t have spelt, obviously feel free to substitute it with something else, your liquid needs may change slightly.

DSC_0296_01

Add your eggs to a bowl.  Remove one egg yolk to a separate bowl and do whatever you want with the other one.

DSC_0298_01

Add the brown sugar and greek yogurt to the single egg yolk and mix.

DSC_0300_01

DSC_0303_01

Add your milk to your egg whites and whisk until frothy.

DSC_0301_01

Frothy.  This step is skippable if you’re in a hurry or lazy, but if you’re either of those why are you making pancakes from scratch?  They do come in a box you know.

DSC_0302_01

Add your flour mixture to your yogurt mixture.  Usually I don’t stir these two together at this point to make sure I don’t over mix my batter but the almond meal got a little clumpy when I added my milk.  So I would stir these mixtures together at this point.

DSC_0304_01

Add your milk/egg froth.  Unlike me, you’ll have already mixed in your flour.

DSC_0305_01

Combine, being careful not to over work your batter.  I unfortunately had to over mix mine because the almond meal locked into tiny clumps.  So it negated the whole egg frothing thing.  Oh well, your pancakes will be better for it.

DSC_0307_01

Pour out onto lightly oiled or buttered pan.  I usually use butter but I decided to mix it up and use coconut oil.  I think the oil made it harder to regulate the heat in my pan, but I don’t know for certain.

I use a 1/4 cup measuring spoon to ladle the batter out and they’re the perfect size for us.

DSC_0310_01

I am still not a master pancake flipper.  One day.

DSC_0314_01

I have a secret to tell.  I may have already divulged this is another pancake post, but I don’t like maple syrup.  Never have.  I like to spread yogurt butter on my pancakes and sometimes when I’m feeling frisky, peanut butter.  And when I’m feeling extra frisky, nutella.

DSC_0321_01

This stuff.  I realize it’s mostly water and oil, but I love it.

0001111534004_500X500

Justin goes for a semi more traditional route and is topping his with agave nectar.  Enjoy!

DSC_0352_01

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Spelt Pancakes

  1. I love bob’s red mill – I get all my grains like that: barley, steel cut oatmeal, rye etc, and since most things in singapore are imported anyway, there aren’t many cheaper options.

    I always get a buzz seeing them stacked up in my pantry!

Leave a Reply

