Chocolate Zucchini Bread

DSC_0093_01

The base for this recipe is very similar to my banana breads.  So if you make it and wind up liking it you can check those out in the BREAKFAST section.  That being said this is even less sugary than my banana bread recipes.  I’m getting even more off the sugar wagon, not that I was ever really on it.  I guess I looked at it a little too hard sometimes, I don’t know.

I’m not eating much processed sugar these days is what I’m saying, I JUST WANT YOU ALL TO BE AWARE.

I’m kidding.

Yesterday, Justin brought home some summer squashes from the farmer’s market.   Now, I had never had a summer squash before and I barely eat zucchini.  I knew zucchini bread was a thing but  I realized I didn’t know exactly what he had brought home.

After some googling it turns out he brought home 1 zucchini, 1, crookneck, and 1 straightneck.

summer-squash

So what’s the difference?  It turns out not much of anything.  They’re used completely interchangeably in recipes and all that really differs is the color.  All are called summer squashes and they’re picked while still immature so their seeds and skins are still edible.  The only difference seems to be is yellows tend to have more seeds the larger they are, so look for small ones.

So short story shorter, don’t worry about what kind of summer squash you have, no one will be able to tell the difference anyway.

On to the recipe!

Recipe: (baking time: 1 hour) 

1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp instant espresso powder
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
2 cups summer squash (3 small ones)
1 tbsp chocolate chips

Preheat oven 350°

Sift or whisk together your flours, baking powder/soda, salt, and cocoa powder.

DSC_0047_01

In a large mixing bowl add your applesauce, sugars, espresso powder, and vanilla.

I usually use multiple kinds of sugar in my baking, I feel you get a better product that way.  Brown sugar makes it moist while white sugar gives it that firmer top at the end.  Granted we’re not adding that much but the idea is there.  If you want more of the effect add 1/4 cup of each, the rest of the recipe should be fine, you made need to add a tbsp or 2 of liquid at the end.

The instant espresso is optional, it just intensifies the chocolate flavor.

DSC_0049_01

Grate your squashes.

DSC_0053_01

Because these guys contain a lot of excess water you may want to strain them.  You don’t need them to be completely dry just squeeze the clump with your hand or something, just to get most of the liquid out.

DSC_0057_01

Add an egg to your sugar/applesauce mix and whisk until just combined.

DSC_0059_01

Now you’re going to add your flours and squash mix in chunks.

DSC_0060_01

You don’t need to stir thoroughly in between each addition.

DSC_0061_01

It’s kind of like a souffle mixing action.

DSC_0064_01

End with a squash addition.

DSC_0065_01

End result should be pour-able but not liquidy, thicker than a traditional cake batter.

Taste it!  If it’s not sugary enough for you consider sprinkling a tbsp or 2 of sugar after you put it in your pan.  I’m trying to lower my sugar desires and I found that was a good way to transition.

DSC_0066_01

Add a tbsp of chocolate chips if you want and bake in your 350° for 1 hour or until a tester comes out clean.

DSC_0068_01

Let it cool.  Give it at least 20 minutes or the poor thing with fall apart on you.

DSC_0070_01

Bread like this keeps for a day or two on the counter and up to a week in the fridge.

Enjoy!

DSC_0087_01

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Bread

  1. Every time I see a bread recipe using squash I am always awed. My brain keeps saying, “Does not compute”, while my tongue says, “So what? Eat.” 😀

    • PS – This is amazingly less sugary – I like that! Other recipes have 1 cup of sugar. I was thinking of using a half cup and some stevia. But yours has even less. Is that why you call it a bread and not a cake?

      • The base recipe is almost the same as my banana bread, so that’s why I called it a bread. A lot of zucchini bread recipes out there you will find usually contain around 1 cup of sugar. I put in around 1/4-1/2 cup in all my banana type breads. I’m not a huge fan of artificial sweetener and have never actually used it in baking, but if you like it and need that extra sweetness go for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

