Healthy Espresso Chunky Granola

DSC_0149_01

I have finally combined my two loves.  Granola and coffee.  All is right with the world.

Now I just need to get a picture of Tilda Swinton lying on a bed of it then I can die happy.

No creepin’.

Recipe: (baking time 1 hour)

3 cups oats (old fashion)
2 tbsp oat flour (ground oats) – can also use whole wheat flour
2 tbsp flax seed
1/2 cup almonds (raw, chopped)
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (raw)
3 tbsp cocoa powder
3 tbsp espresso powder
1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
1/2 cup strong coffee – can also you water
1 tsp cinnamon (optional)
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp white sugar

Preheat oven: 300°

On Pinterest I saw people talking about how they didn’t want to add wheat flour to one of my granola recipes so they were adding some random flour I can’t think of right now.  Instead of going to all that trouble/money of buying some of obscure gluten free flour just grind up 2 tbsp of your oats in a blender, food processor, or be weird like me and do it in your coffee grinder.

Don’t judge me on my cheap coffee grinder, our $200 one broke (relax, we didn’t spend that much on it) and we couldn’t get ourselves to buy another nice one. 😦

DSC_0095_01

Oat flour!

DSC_0097_01

Add your oats, flour, seeds and nuts to a bowl.

DSC_0099_01

In a pot over low heat combine your cocoa powder, espresso powder, coffee, vanilla, applesauce, and cinnamon (I just love cinnamon and coffee together and have a hard time not adding them together).  Wait to add the salt and sugar.

I’ve started buying my applesauce in bulk (well just the bigger jars anyway) and freezing it in 4 oz sizes.  So that’s why it looks weird.  I used to buy it in those 4 oz tubs but you save a little bit when you buy it in the jars, those stupid jars just always go bad on me.  Hence the freezing.

I guess looking at the picture you probably wouldn’t have realized it was frozen and I didn’t need to explain that.  Oh well, maybe you’ll start freezing your applesauce too.

DSC_0102_01

Heat and stir until combined.  Add 1/2 tsp of salt  and 1 tbsp sugar.

Taste it!  Does it taste like ass?  Then fix it.  Whether or not it tastes good will entirely depend on your espresso/coffee because my recipe is flawless.  Just kidding, but no seriously.  Your espresso may require you to add a little bit more salt.  Salt neutralizes bitterness better than sugar so add 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tbsp sugar.  Taste it.  If you notice there’s not much of a bitter flavor, (it will still have a very strong coffee flavor, don’t confuse the two) then you’re good with the salt.   Add the other tbsp of sugar if you need it, I did.

My espresso powder was of the cheaper variety so I needed to add a little bit more salt to neutralize the not so pleasant bitterness (there’s a difference between pleasant bitterness and not so pleasant–and my stuff is cheap, I’ll admit that).

DSC_0105_01

Mix your dry ingredients together.  I forget this step all the time.  It’s annoying when you do.

DSC_0103_01

Pour your wet mixture into your dry.

DSC_0110_01

And mix until everything is thoroughly combined.

DSC_0113_01

Pour out onto a lightly greased baking sheet.

DSC_0115_01

Wet your hands and press down on the granola making it as flat as possible.  We’re going for around 1/4″ – 1/2″ thick.  Anymore than that and it’s going to take a lot longer to bake.

If you want more of a cluster thing then just loosely spread it around, but that’s stupid.

Bake in your 300° oven for 1 hour.

About 40 minutes in I pull the granola out and break apart the huge sheet into large chunks.  It will be soft but still stay together.  Flip around the chunks so pieces that were on the outside are now on the inside and sides that were touching the sheet are now exposed to the air.

Do you have to do this step?  No.  But you don’t have to make your own granola either.  Doing this allows the granola to bake faster and more evenly.  If you don’t, it will still bake it will just take around 2 hours and the sides will probably burn.

DSC_0116_01

Sexy.

DSC_0118_01

Perfect for days when you find yourself second guessing that 4th cup of coffee.  Who are we kidding?  Those days don’t exist.

Perfect for days that end in ‘y’.

DSC_0148_01

6 thoughts on “Healthy Espresso Chunky Granola

  1. That is a riot. I am so glad you created your perfect combo. May it keep your early a.m.’s rocking for a good long time. 😉

Leave a Reply

