Whole Wheat Protein Tortillas

DSC_0179_01

Tortillas are one of those things that once you make them, you’ll wonder why you haven’t all along.  I’ve been a loyal Mission girl since I knew what a tortilla was so I’m issuing myself some authority on tortillas.

13348138

These tortilla shells are obviously not the soft white flour tortilla shells of Mission, dare I say they’re better.  I do dare say.  I was convinced Justin was going to hate these and he loved them.  Side note: when Justin and I first met he was your typical college guy and hated pretty much all things healthy.  Now he’s salivating over a whole wheat soy tortilla.

Ladies, Cosmo was right, you can change your man.

Recipe: (makes 12) NutritionLabel (1)

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup soy flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp oil
3/4 cup water

Add your flours, oil, salt, baking powder to a bowl.

I’m adding soy flour here because I wanted to up the protein of the tortillas.  Soy flour has 10 g of protein per 1/4 cup compared to whole wheat’s 4 g.  The rule is you can replace up to 30% of your flour with soy flour and not run into problems.  You can do all whole wheat if you want but I find using solely whole wheat in any dish makes it too dense.  If I didn’t use soy flour I would have used all purpose.

DSC_0140_01

Mix together and add your water until it comes together.

DSC_0141_01

Turn out onto lightly floured surface and knead for 5 minutes.

DSC_0151_01

It won’t get elastic like a bread dough due to the lack of yeast.

DSC_0152_01

Portion into 12 equal balls. If you want to do tacos 12 is good.  If you want burritos, consider doing 8.

DSC_0153_01

Cover with a damp cloth or paper towel so they don’t dry out.

DSC_0154_01

Lightly flour your surface and flatten out ball with your hand.

DSC_0159_01

Roll out the rest of the way with a rolling pin.

DSC_0160_01

Mine were about 6 inches.  Cover back up with a damp cloth until you have made all the tortillas.  I stacked mine on top of each other and didn’t have a problem with sticking.

DSC_0164_01

Heat a skillet over medium-medium/high heat.  I didn’t bother with oil.

Heat the tortillas for 30 seconds on each side.  You’ll start to see bubbling.

DSC_0172_01

DSC_0173_01

I found these tortillas good enough to eat on their own, which is something I would never do with store bought tortillas.  I also realized how plastic-y the store bought ones taste after sitting in those bags for so long.

DSC_0188_01

We enjoyed ours as Vegetarian Fajita Tacos.

DSC_0205_01

8 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Protein Tortillas

  1. I’ll have to try these. Last week I was lucky enough to source a bag of masa harina ( not an easy feat in Australia) and made corn tortillas. They were delicious as I’m sure these are. Thanks for posting and thanks to the Vittle Monster for reblogging.

  2. “he was your typical college guy and hated pretty much all things healthy. Now he’s salivating over a whole wheat soy tortilla.” sounds like my partner – and I’m still waiting for it to happen!

    anything wholewheat is “hamster food”.

  3. Pingback: Vegetarian Fajita Tacos | Our Studio Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Vegetarian Fajita Tacos | Our Studio Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Vegetarian Fajita Tacos | Our Studio Kitchen

Leave a Reply

